Deep in the Transition in Everyday Ramblings

  • Oct. 4, 2019, 11:56 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Mr. Finch used to grouse at me about my lack of strategy and unsystematic under-analyzed posting times when we were both back on Open Diary. He would have never been able to keep up with what is happening now on social media.

That was back when we cared about how many people were exposed to our poetry at any given time, that driving ambition to get read.

What makes me laugh is that he told me, (not based on any analysis) that Friday mornings are the worst time to post for traffic. I post a lot on Friday mornings. This may change when I retire but for now it works for me. I use a personal computer so that is a limitation…being home.

Work has been icky this week. Really busy and I just don’t want to work this hard on top of all the interpersonal stress. I was so preoccupied with getting things set up in the new shared cubicle in the office that on Monday when I went in to use it for the first time I forgot to put in my hearing aids.

This turns out to be a good thing. I really don’t want to hear everyone’s phone calls, let alone listen to them eat. I didn’t wear them on Tuesday either. I was only in half day then because I needed to go to the dentist and get my problem tooth, where the filling had fallen out, fixed.

I need to start wearing my hearing aids to all my appointments because I could barely hear what the dentist was saying. Another one of those epiphanies that advancing age brings.

Anyway the tooth is patched, his words, and I am good to go for a time.

My classes have been small this week with people traveling and getting furniture delivered and… I focused on our relationship with gravity and prepping for the classes was helpful in understanding my relationship with it. We are so perfectly suited for our environment and even though gravity over time makes us sag, it also without a doubt keeps us strong and functional. We need that resistance.

This touched me, one of my students told me he was achy and hadn’t wanted to come to class. He comes with his partner and his partner encouraged him to show up anyway and the next day after me fussing in a good natured way during class about how we need to move our bodies even though the mind says…I’d like to just sit here please…he texted me and said he felt better afterwards.

Yesterday my new super duper color printer arrived in a big box. It is now sitting on my living room floor providing a platform for the cats to observe the world when I am in there. I hope to get it set up this weekend.

I had made an appointment for the week after next to talk to a volunteer for this fabulous state run program that helps you decide what is best for you in terms of Medicare supplemental insurance.

They called on Wednesday and said they had a couple of cancellations and could I come this week. So I ran off in the middle of a wild ride of a morning at work, already stressed out, and made it downtown through a kind of hellscape of construction, homeless sleeping on the sidewalk, dogs fighting in covered plywood walkways and mentally ill people talking to themselves and spouting angry gibberish while wrestling with their clothes.

A woman, (maybe in her 40’s), high on something and angry as all get out, lunged at me on the sidewalk. I have never had that happen before.

I jumped out of the way but it was scary. Part of the problem was me, I was anxious because I was running a little late and the county building was not on the side of the street it was supposed to be on. :) We are talking 9AM on a weekday here.

I eventually found the place and had a lovely helpful interview and now have a plan on what to do about health insurance after I leave work. There are a bunch of steps, forms and phone calls and visits to additional public offices but I have a plan.

And I took a nice safe uneventful bus home to jump back into the work craziness.

Man am I glad it is Friday.


Last updated October 04, 2019


Marg October 05, 2019

I'm stressed just reading this! And wondering what it was about Friday mornings which made OD traffic less? You'd think it would be more as folk settled into 'weekend mode'!

Zipster October 07, 2019

I am so glad to hear you are getting all your ducks in a row. I can't wait for you to be out of your icky work place.

edna million October 10, 2019

AGGHHH to shared space (soon to be in the past!) Our previous dean had a plan to do away with our offices and turn everything into shared space, but fortunately it got scrapped quickly since we do meet with students individually and shared space could be a privacy violation. HOORAY!!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.