More Problems, Less Money in It's Art, You Wouldn't Understand

  • Sept. 30, 2019, 12:34 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I went to an open mic last night. I’m trying to get back into the groove of being “busy”. Plus, it was a free event and since me and Chu are broke as a joke right now, we decided it was a good couple’s night date. I went to the same weekly event last year and it was packed. Last night…not so much. I realized that some of the same people that were reading and performing last night were also there last year. They weren’t very good but it was their art, so it was perfect I suppose. There was a newcomer last night, she was really shy and silly but she was the one that made me smile the most. Her poems were very elementary, like rhyming cat with hat or something like that. It was pretty refreshing though and she made me smile the whole way home.

Money is tight, but what else is new? October was supposed to be the month that we catch up on all our bills. The tenants really did a number on the property and with one broken fridge last month, then another one this month, plus the damn bugs and floor being all torn up…just ugh.

Everything is gone. The credit cards are all used up, I wiped out my measly savings account and our credit score is so shot that any bank or loan office would laugh us out of the building. The property needs a new roof, our car needs to be fixed, both of them if I’m being honest and all the units need to be updated. We are in over our heads really and the stress is building.

However, I know God rules all and my debt and other issues are really nothing in the grand scheme of things. I’ve been praying and looking at my options. I could sell this house, move back into the one-bedroom and just work my ass off to help pay down the debt and to get everything back to where it needs to be. Or I could get a roommate? I like walking around naked too much though…but sacrifices must be made. I’ll keep my feelers open to a cool person to rent the bedroom too while doing the math about how much I could get for the townhouse. In the meantime, I’m going to start looking for a job, something where the paycheck can just go toward debt. I can still do Grubhub on the side and even save to get a new product on the market by next spring.

So the focus this week…this month, find a job and get money coming in ASAP.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.