Chomping (Champing?) at the Bit in Everyday Ramblings

  • Sept. 29, 2019, 8:31 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is one of the few giant trees around here that still has its own lot. When I get some time I will look into what was surrounding it before. It was clearly right on the interurban railroad line. There is an Italian restaurant on the high end of the hilly block but that is it.

We had this freak thunderstorm that blew up out of nowhere yesterday in the early evening with a lot of hard rain. I kept thinking about all the drug-addled folks living rough out there as I was all cozy inside finishing up reading the Louise Penny murder mystery. The weather advisory said to stay inside. I suppose with all the folks that had places to go off the streets… this provided doorways and covered drives for those that needed them.

Yesterday my big excitement was about applying for a beginner plot in my local community garden. It is about 7 blocks away. The small plots cost $20 a year but you can apply for a scholarship if that is too steep. The make the assignments starting in February.

I have never had a garden, as an adult, so there will be a learning curve.

My ultimate goal is to grow chard, mint and lots of tomatoes. Kes says maybe I should consider peas too. We shall see. And flowers (non-toxic for cats) for cutting.

Speaking of the cats, the Laxatone seems to be helping Diego so there has been less throwing up. And otherwise I am thrilled to say they are both back to a vital normality with Diego a bit nippy this morning.

The news has been pretty intense this last week and I feel like I know a lot in a very narrow range. It all feels dark and slightly claustrophobic. Podcasts are getting better and better and there are way too many to choose from. It is kind of like getting a treat at the store…if I am going to go for the fat and sugar and calories I want something that is truly satisfying, not some sort of diet approximation of something.

There is only so much time. It is hard to deal anymore with things that are really dark and, of course, I have strong opinions about all things poetry and all things yoga so I need to be in a certain mood for those.

Even though I did take the bus yesterday to the grocery and back and had a few IMs with my family I realize I did not talk to anyone. I listened to a lot of podcasts as I was doing all my chores and getting my cardio, class preparation and resting but did not actually speak person to person to anyone.

The lack of distraction and quiet is healing right now as I wrap up these last few weeks at work. I will need to make a concerted effort though afterwards to get out and interact with others daily though.

There is the gym. I will do that and in the spring the community garden and if Mrs. Sherlock had her way I would be doing group activities all year long with the Trails Club and the Primetimers. It is going to be more of a balancing act I think and finding how much stimulation works for me and how much quiet time.

And we are not even talking about my mess of a closet, which I have mentioned before. I am looking forward to addressing all these things once I hit escape velocity.

There will be some additional money making endeavor as well. A student was telling me last week that I absolutely have to teach workshops to older folks. We’ll see.

One of the things I am most looking forward to is returning to writing regularly. My brain has changed over the last five years and writing doesn’t flow as easily or creatively as it used to but the cool thing is that now I don’t care about recognition for it as much.

Essays, and poems, memoir and opinions and history, these are all things I want to work on. As well as improving my typing speed.

I have an app for that. :)


Last updated September 29, 2019


mcbee September 29, 2019

I will usually have at least a day each week where I don't talk to anyone. I wouldn't want every day to be like that, but I feel like it's good to experience silence and less stimulation with every day life being so hectic in this crazy world we live in now.

Jinn October 01, 2019 (edited October 01, 2019)

Edited

I need a lot of solitude but with being ill the last couple weeks I have had way more than I need :-( . Too much staying inside too .
I think you will love having a garden . I would recommend to do square foot gardening . It makes it much easier to keep up with the weeding . I am changing my beds over next year . Long and narrow is great . Sink your mint in a container or it will invade everything else you plant . Just FyI . I grow mine in pots since they don’t like bright sun either but they will grow almost anywhere . Chard is easy ; I love it wilted. :-) The “ Bright Lights” variety is pretty . Cherry tomatoes are great for salads . I love the “ Sungold “ variety . I can mail you seeds if you want them. I always grow a bunch :-) For an easy striking flower ; I recommend Zinnias . This year mine have been gorgeous and totally no fuss.
So glad the Laxatone has worked for Diego !
Maybe you could teach a creative writing course for seniors !

noko Jinn ⋅ October 02, 2019

Thanks. This is all helpful. 🙂 I need to look up square foot gardening. It is funny, I was just listening to an interview with a yoga teacher that includes journaling in her classes.

Marg October 04, 2019

Weirdly I was looking up that phrase in your title 5 minutes before I saw your entry on the Bookmarks page (it's champing apparently) as I had just written it in a note :)
I think you're going to thrive in retirement and love it - what you do with your time will evolve naturally and you'll probably end up busier than you were before! I wish you lived over here though - I would sign up for your yoga course in a heartbeat :)

edna million October 10, 2019

We have a community garden here that I say I'm joining every year--- and I never do! I'm looking forward to hearing about yours.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.