September 27, 2019 in Productivity Diary

Revised: 09/29/2019 6:27 a.m.

  • Sept. 27, 2019, 5 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was speculating about what really set apart the so-called prestigious careers, e.g. medicine, law, engineering, politics, higher education, high tech etc. I came up with this: IMPACT.

How much of a person’s life you can change, and how many lives like that.

You go through a bunch of education and land one of these prestigious jobs, and then…

Should this person be alive? Should this person keep their home or be evicted? Should this person stay in this country or be deported? What is important for this person to learn? How much freedom is this person entitled to? How much privacy is this person entitled to? Where is this person going in their life?

Me? Me? You’re asking ME?

Human lives are on the line, and you’re asking ME to make the decision?

Yeah, I guess this is what it’s about.

All this because one of my students asked me if she should major in philosophy, and whether it would be good for a premed track. I really don’t know. I majored in philosophy not to sharpen my logical reasoning or writing skill or anything. I don’t know if any of that improved because of my major, or just a part of growing up. I majored in philosophy because I just loved reading these texts so darn much.


Last updated September 29, 2019


Jinn September 29, 2019 (edited September 29, 2019)

Edited

Sadly most people in those careers are only there for the money, not to make any positive impact . I suppose the need for power and prestige figures into it as well. Social status. There are always a few with good intent but in today’s society it’s hard to maintain principles . Maybe it’s always been that way :-(

dancingstrawberry Jinn ⋅ September 30, 2019

Yeah definitely! I mean the ability to make an impact, not actual impact! Come to think of it, it's even scary to have that much responsibilities!

Jinn dancingstrawberry ⋅ October 01, 2019

:-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.