Question for my fellow Francophiles in These titles mean nothing.

  • Sept. 27, 2019, 9:30 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

When you’ve been to France, have you eaten French-style/French-cut green beans? Is that how green beans are prepared in France? All the time? Some of the time? When they are served with ?what?

Reason I’m asking is that I accidentally bought a case of French-cut green beans at Aldi’s on my last visit with my brother. He like to shop at Aldi’s on his way home from chemo and I usually buy a few things too. Aldi’s is a cut rate chain with lots of good buys, good selections and sometime surprises!!!!!

I knew I was buying green beans but I thought they were regular cuts, not French. French cut is sort of shredded and regular are just pieces, for some reason I prefer the pieces of beans more than the shreds. I bought 12 cans with the idea of putting them in soups and stews and now instead of having identifiable pieces of green beans, I will not have non-descript shreds.

Oh well these are greater problems in life. And I have some of them too.

Also some of Aldi’s cans have self-open tabs on their lids so you do not have to use a can opener. My French cut green beans require a can opener. But. I have a good can opener and I know where it is, so that’s only a minor gripe.

I may have been distracted in my canned green bean purchase by the grand array of German/Austrian cookies/cakes/baked goods. I got what turned out to be a loaf of Jamaican rum cake that is quite good - very fragrant. I thought if the cops pulled the speedy little car over they would have tested someone of alcohol.

Hi everybody.
Have a good day.

ps I know about green bean casserole already.


Last updated September 27, 2019


Deleted user September 27, 2019

You're funny! :D
I've not been to France nor do I cook with French cut beans, but were I to suddenly find myself with 12 cans of them, I'd throw at least one of them into a pot of soup. I'd most likely take them out of the can first.

woman in the moon Deleted user ⋅ September 27, 2019 (edited September 27, 2019)

Edited

I always open the can. And I see a lot of soup in my future.

Beret September 27, 2019 (edited September 27, 2019)

Edited

Not that I have ever observed green beans in France but the French probably use haricots verts which are skinnier green beans and Americans probably cut/shred regular green beans (at least what we consider American green beans) and called them French cut green beans. If that makes sense.

But no matter. Get some sliced or slivered almonds and saute in butter until they just begin to turn brown. I like my vegetables more crunchy as opposed to cooked to submission so I would probably just use the beans out of the can and not cook any further. I would rinse them to get rid of the canning sodium/preservative, etc. Then dump the almond/butter mixture over your French cut beans and mix. Taste for salt & pepper. You might also add a squeeze of fresh lemon juice. A little bit of lemon can enhance flavor plus you would end up with a buttery lemon sauce.

Of course, one can eat them straight out of the can. Which I have been known to do. French or regular cut.

woman in the moon Beret ⋅ September 27, 2019 (edited September 27, 2019)

Edited

Thank you. I may just do that. I love green beans. My mother would can many quarts of them from her garden and the four of us would eat a quart of beans at a lot of our winter suppers. She boiled them in their canning juice - water with a tsp of salt on top of each jar of beans. I remember filing the jars from a sink of washed, cut, trimmed beans and adding the tsp of salt. You've brought back happy memories.
My seed catalog sells a tool you can use to Frenchify your own beans. I think you feed them through one at a time and turn a crank.
I was thinking maybe the purpose of cutting them finely lengthwise was to expose more surface to a sauce - like fine pasta. Radiatore pasta has little wings that stick out to catch the sauce. I told my mechanic/world traveler brother about pasta shaped like radiators and he would not believe me even after I showed him the wiki article. Fake News, he said.

Purple Dawn September 27, 2019 (edited September 27, 2019)

Edited

They are good in soups or just sides, sauteed with a bit of butter. I usually buy those as opposed to the regular cut.

Jinn September 28, 2019

I fix them with onion and bacon . My Grandmother did that and of course used the French cut in vegetable soup and also in green bean casserole .

Just Annie September 28, 2019

I don't really care for the French-style green beans - I won't use them in the famous green bean casserole - but I would probably use them until they were gone.

noko September 28, 2019

I did not eat any green beans when I was in France so can't help you there. I am not a big fan but would get creative if I had a case of them. Or give them as gifts. My hands are fine but I admit to paying more to buy pull top cans of pineapple tidbits on occasion.

Serin September 28, 2019

I was in Paris for a day when I was 10. So I remember vague impressions of the Eiffel Tower, terrifying traffic in roundabouts and staring out the hotel window at the planes at the airport.

But, some girl somewhen did manage to make me learn that french cut exposes more hip. So all you need to know is where the hip is on a bean, and it'll all make sense.

NorthernSeeker September 29, 2019

I actually like the French cut beans with pimento. I have been known to eat a can of them by myself.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.