Up in the Air in These Foolish Things

  • Sept. 25, 2019, 11:59 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m on a plane bound for this week’s business trip. Some people might think that I’m crazy as my business trips used to be much, much more glamorous - as in, Fashion Week in Milan or early Fall fashion shopping in Stockholm or even market week in good old New York City.

But this week I’m traveling to a brand spanking new R+D facility in the middle of nowhere Tennessee and I couldn’t be more thrilled.

I mean, first of all, I’m on a freaking plane…still nervous about the fact that I have an aneurysm, you know? And though I’ve taken ½ of a Valium and had a glass of wine, I’m still the slightest bit shaken.

There are two girls across the aisle from me and they look incredibly athletic. In fact, they are all decked out in workout gear from head to toe, complete with athletic backpacks that say “Ironman” on them. But they have been eating non-stop since they boarded. Like, they sat down and one girl pulled out a box of doughnuts! And the other one pulled out some kind of crackers or chips or something and then ate an apple. Then the other one MADE a peanut butter and banana sandwich! And then the other one pulls out a big jug of water and some other stuff. It’s like a freaking picnic over there!

I just want the flight attendant to come by with some more wine, please.

But back to the R+D center. Yes, it’s part of the giant corporation I’m building product for (TLIC). This company is known for their state-of-the-art facilities. Their corporate office outside of Detroit is one of the coolest corporate offices I’ve ever stepped foot in, so the R+D center should be nothing short of spectacular. Yes, I have high expectations. This company is huge and cash-heavy. They are on a mission to grow by innovation and acquisition of high tech companies, so this is very interesting to me, coming from a less tech-y type of product. I get all excited about innovative design.

Enough geeking out, though.

I didn’t realize that one of the guys who I was to meet there is on my flight until right before I boarded. He obviously had a layover in [my city] and came be-bopping over to where I was sitting at the gate before boarding. He’s a nice enough guy, but it always seems like his job is to try to poke holes in my development. Like, play the devil’s advocate. He is the first layer to getting my product approved by the bigger corporation, and so he’s so fucking critical of everything I do. Boss hates this guy and that’s why he totally leaves me alone to deal with him.

Thank goodness we are not sitting together on the plane! But I have a feeling he’ll ask me if I want to ride with him to the town where our meeting is going to be held (it’s an hour drive from the airport).. I have news for him, though. I rented a car separately.

I wonder if we’re on the same fight back home. If so, it would be so efficient to ride together, but I’m not sure I want to. I suppose we’ll cross that bridge when we get there.

Where IS that flight attendant?

More later, I’m sure!
Onward and upward,
GS


Gangleri September 25, 2019

Big time athletes burn an incredible amount of calories. They almost HAVE to eat like that, which is disgusting in its own right. Check out The Rock’s diet sometime.

Ginger Snap Gangleri ⋅ September 25, 2019

Update!!! We are at baggage claim and they are STLL EATING!!!!

Soliloquy September 25, 2019

Middle of nowhere Tennessee is a hotbed of activity for high level Crossfitters. I bet those girls are headed to train at CrossFit Mayhem. If it wasn't kind of creepy to do so I'd say snap a pic of them and I could probably tell you who they are.

Jinn September 25, 2019

I hope you got your glass refilled !

Marg September 26, 2019

Hope he didn't try and hitch a lift with you!

plushcreep September 28, 2019

You know what? I'd rather travel to Tennessee than Milan. I mean, there are so many great places to explore right here in the U.S.! And it's a heckuva lot cheaper, too. Enjoy your trip!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.