Hot Sax Footage in Things That Aren't Mine But That I Have Things To Say About

  • March 7, 2014, 4:51 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

(Or "Wham!? Man! Thank You, Band.")

Three things I love about this video:

  1. Just the whole concept of re-imagining 80's songs as early 20th century material is, to me, pretty cool. I always like new takes on things. Well, usually. And provided they're respecting the source material (which I think this is.)

  2. I find the piano playing fascinating. Actually, I find the whole video fascinating, but I like watching people play the piano. I would say that I have a piano fetish, but that sounds sexual, and I assure it is anything but. I just really like pianos. And ragtime/jazz style piano in particular. (Though not exclusively.)

  3. The saxophone playing in this reminds me partly of why I had wanted to learn the saxophone in the first place when I was little. Both for styles like this, AND for the style of sax playing that was in the original Wham! song. I've never actually played this well, but I used to aspire to do so. If we get our own house instead of an apartment, I will definitely pick up the sax again. (I haven't played it since 2012. And prior to that, it hadn't been since 1998. Though I was able to pick it up again.)

Anyway, this is my favorite song of the day (and that's saying something, as I discovered several songs today while browsing. Including a wonderful piano piece [by this same piano player] that was a mashup of Bohemian Rhapsody and Rhapsody in Blue, which is "an idea I once thought of" (as I'm sure any musician familiar with the two songs probably has), but this guy actually managed to do it. So, kudos to him.


Jigger March 07, 2014

Oh, these people do so much good stuff!

Krud Jigger ⋅ March 07, 2014

So I've been learning tonight! =D I'd known about the tragic clown with the golden voice rendition of "Royals" (before I had even known of the original song), but for whatever reason never made the connection back to this account or these people.

Jigger Krud ⋅ March 07, 2014

Dorkus introduced me to the clown. I had no idea he worked with these kids too until I tripped over "Royals" and was all, "Oh! Hey! He did 'You Don't Know Me!' I totally felt that!" (Seriously, if you haven't seen it, you should look it up.)

caitriona March 07, 2014

I pretty much want to be that lady.

Krud caitriona ⋅ March 07, 2014

That would be cool! Then I could say, "Hey! I know her! Kinda!"

Krud caitriona ⋅ March 07, 2014

(Seriously though, I regret not completing my Music minor in college.)

ElvenAssassin March 07, 2014

I'll have to give it a listen later; everyone is asleep, but I LOVE piano, and I LOVE string instruments so I get what you're saying ^_^

Flame is Love March 07, 2014

I generally don't watch YouTube links. No reason, just don't.

Now I'm going to watch everything they've done. Good thing we're dead in the office today.

Krud Flame is Love ⋅ March 07, 2014

You're definitely not alone in that (the non-YouTube-clicking.) I'm actually glad to hear there doesn't have to be a reason. =D I was starting to develop something of a complex about that regarding my own personal YouTube posts that I would put on Facebook. (Sometimes it's not good to be able to see how few hits something gets.) Also, I think this is probably my favorite things that they've done. Though I also like their take on Thrift Shop.

Krud Flame is Love ⋅ March 07, 2014

(Also, while I don't know to what degree this will or won't work, I decide from the get-go that the only things I would post in this Book are links to things that resonate with me and that I have something personal to contribute to the proceedings. Because otherwise it's just a collection of links, and there's no shortage of that on the internet.)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.