Angela in Fragments of Life

  • Sept. 23, 2019, 10:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Angela moved to the United States when she was nearly 20 years old with her mother and two younger brothers. They had lost their father to a tragic accident back in Munich.

Due to her demanding career, Angela wasn’t usually in a relationship. Being the hard-ass of sorts that she could be, she wasn’t much of a romantic anyway. Yes, she did have somewhat of a long-term relationship with a man and then a woman who had a houseboat. Angela eventually moved in with her and they later broke up. It was decided that Angela would keep the houseboat because the woman wanted to move to Florida to be closer to her family.

The houseboat was getting old and costing more money than it was worth to keep fixing. About a week or two after I moved in with Michelle, Angela came to join us, unsure of where she was going to go from there at the time.

I then met her new girlfriend, Jamie, and it wasn’t long before the four of us realized how well we got along as a group and how well we complemented each other. Where one was lacking, another was not so lacking. Cooking and cleaning just wasn’t Michelle and Angela’s main thing, so Jamie and I were happy to do that much as I said in an earlier entry.

I was sent to deliver Angela an important document of some kind one day and that’s how we first met. I stepped out of the elevator and approached an area with a handful of desks. The room wasn’t nearly as large as where Michelle usually worked. As I entered the area, there was just one woman sitting at one of the desks. Recognizing the colors and general attire of the US Marshals, I said, “Are you Marshal Neumann?

“Yup,” she said in a stern, matter-of-fact tone of voice as she shuffled some papers. And then she looked up at me expectantly. She had the most vivid blue eyes I’d ever seen. Her gaze was intense and probing. She looked intimidating yet there was a hotness about her I liked.

I handed her the large envelope and then I told her to have a nice day before I began to walk away.

“Wait a minute,” she called after me.

I stopped and turned around.

“You the new girl that started last month up in records?”

“Yes,” I said. “That would be me.” When she didn’t say anything for a few seconds, I asked, “Not what you expected?” I definitely didn’t look like I was in any way affiliated with the police with my girly and diminutive size.

She simply shrugged as if to say, what should I expect? Then she asked what I last heard.

“Mickey Mouse says it’s 13 o’clock.”

She continued to study me.

“That’s what I last heard,” I explained. “I was walking by one of the offices on my way to the elevators and someone was playing that old Bobby Goldsmith song on the radio, and well, Mickey Mouse really did say it was 13 o’clock.”

She looked at me as if to suggest I might not all be there and then said, “Actually, I was referring to Lieutenant Butler. Did he give you any news about the meeting they have planned later on?”

“Sorry,” I said, “I’ve definitely heard more about Mickey Mouse than meetings.”

She continued to eye me funny and then she asked if I was working with some other woman that had recently been hired and that’s when I said in German, “No, she’s a bitch.”

Angela’s eyes quickly flicked to me in surprise after she had looked away for a few seconds at something on her desk. Whether or not I was anything she expected, I was sure that the German wasn’t the least bit expected.

“Will that be all, ma’am, Marshal, officer, or whatever I should be addressing you as?”

She put the document back in the envelope, looked up at me and said, “Why don’t you just call me Angela, okay?”

“You got it,” I said with a wink and a smile that I quickly realized was more obvious than I meant for it to be as I turned and headed back to the elevator.
Web
Analytics


Comments are closed.

No comments.

Comments are closed.