September 20, 2019 in Productivity Diary

  • Sept. 20, 2019, 11:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Okay, get to work now.

I learned about the 5 second rule on Quora, seems pretty helpful. So when you want to do something, you have 5 SECONDS to begin it right away, before your brain starts putting doubt into you.

I have to cancel classes for the second time because of the flood situation in Houston. Now I want to make a lecture video for the students.

ENOUGH GOOFING AROUND!!! MAKE THAT VIDEO.
-Write Script
-Record
-Publish

It’s that simple.

Okay fine, let’s try this (I have wasted 2 hours of the morning already. This is why I cannot progress in love)
-10 minutes writing script
-5 minutes reading for comps
-3 minutes break

11:00 AM 10 minutes writing script
11:14 AM 5 minutes reading for comps
11:20 AM 10 minutes writing script
11:31 AM 5 minutes reading for comps
11:36 AM 3 minutes rest

I posted the video at 11 PM. Shame on me, the professor.


Jinn September 22, 2019

The Five Second Rule !

dancingstrawberry Jinn ⋅ September 22, 2019

Not the one about eating food off the floor!

Jinn dancingstrawberry ⋅ September 22, 2019

No, the motivational rule by Mel Robbins. Simplistically ; anything you need to do ( but don’t really want to ) just count down 5-4-3-2-1 and make yourself do it . I find it helpful when I remember to use it !

dancingstrawberry Jinn ⋅ September 23, 2019

WOA I didn't know the source for that! I just randomly read it online (the other 5 second rule that I knew was about eat food off the floor!). Well this is so unbelievably simple and it WORKS! nice to see a female motivational speaker too ;).

Jinn dancingstrawberry ⋅ September 23, 2019

She just recently got her own TV show although I have not seen it yet. Kristi on here told me about her :-)

dancingstrawberry Jinn ⋅ September 24, 2019

Ah yes, and then you told me about her :). Ah, the things we learn just from online interactions!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.