I Have a Plan For That in Everyday Ramblings

  • Sept. 15, 2019, 2:50 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday I got to pick where we hiked and I wanted to go visit this large rowdy community garden I pass on the bus all the time but have never been to before.

There is a hike in our hill walks book that goes there and we tried it once before but we started at my place instead of at the riverfront park and that added an extra 2.5 miles and when we got another .5 mile Mrs. Sherlock sad she was done, and when she says that I take her seriously.

We got confused and a little lost but we found this area with spectacular views and so it was a scenic place to be lost. There were often not sidewalks though and a lot of deliveries and other local errand traffic and it got a little dicey with Frida and the trucks and SUVs.

Also, honestly, Mrs. Sherlock was a bit irritable. She had been drafted into this volunteer gig at the church and is doing it in good faith but there are controlling interpersonal dynamics that are driving her nuts. We had to stop for phone calls. That and one of her tenants, who has some developmental issues was having trouble getting into the laundry area…

With all that we made it to the garden! I thought this was clever; they built the big compost bins under the heritage apple trees.

We found a café we didn’t know about and stopped and had iced green tea and it is attached to a fun restaurant that sells gluten free fish and chips. I am so going back there!

All this was a big wonderful happy distraction from work. I logged on after I wrote my last post and there was a terse email from Mr. On the Spectrum saying we (Motorcycle Man and me) are being displaced from the office space we are currently housed in for a new manager.

It turns out, (I had to ask someone else), the manager is being hired to oversee the area where the guy that created all the issues with the union negotiations is.

As Motorcycle Man and I do not come into the office on the same days anymore we are being moved to a public cubicle that we will be forced to share. He is messy. I am not. We have about 10 days to remove our stuff. This is the cubicle where Mr. On the Spectrum’s favorite guy (who now works remotely from San Francisco) used to sit.

I stewed about this all for a couple of hours and decided this Buttercup has Bucked Up long enough.

I won’t be leaving right away. My plan is that my last day will be November 1st.

8 months earlier than I had wanted to. But I can’t take it anymore.

On the off chance that anyone from work is reading this, which I find highly unlikely, as that would mean someone at work would need to care enough to find the link… this isn’t set in stone…you never know…I could ride it out until the very bitter end so don’t get your boy knickers in a twist.

I have enough vacation saved up to take seven days off so I will give notice and leave three days later. This is much better than the medical leave. I will take a hit on my pension but when I walk, and I will walk, I won’t have to go back. If I took the medical leave the whole thing would be overshadowed by the having to go back fact.

After the first of the year I will look into part time work to cover the shortfall. The way I am thinking of this is that email… that brusque brutal email was a natural disaster. The storm has arrived and my anchor or security or any sense of certainty is gone. Poof!

And what is left is to deal.

And I can deal. It may not be pretty but it will work. I am going to do the very best I can to take care of myself.

The relief is enormous! It makes me giddy.

And yes… looking at my budget line for income after November 1st and seeing zero is terrifying. I should start getting my small pension payments a few months after that and I have about six months worth of income in liquid savings available to draw on.

Wish me luck and no second-guessing. I am going to need it!


Last updated September 15, 2019


Jinn September 15, 2019

I suspect leaving that place will be a big relief ! Wanker on the Spectrum !

mcbee September 15, 2019

This has been coming for a long time....so I am not surprised. I know that when you do get to leave, whether now or in 8 months, your life will improve measurably. There is something so freeing about retirement.

Lyn September 15, 2019

Wishing you peace and strength.

Wit' or witout September 16, 2019

My advice, from my own experience, is to give as little notice as possible before you actually leave. The period of “them” knowing it's your last few days is/will be tough. You are making the right decision and you will be fine.

woman in the moon September 16, 2019

I just saw this. I wish you well. You definitely need to get out of there and you will have a new life. 'Retiring' is never easy. But. Neither is working.
Best of luck.

Marg September 16, 2019

Oh I'm so glad you're getting out of there! You'll make it work finance-wise I've no doubt of that and the sense of freedom and decrease of stress will do be worth it even though it might feel scary at first. So happy for you!

edna million October 10, 2019

Read back to see this entry - hooray!!! I am so glad you're doing this and getting out earlier than planned. Your health will thank you too. The leap of faith will be SO worth it. Also, I'm very glad Diego is feeling better!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.