Life hack in Adventures in paradise

  • Sept. 15, 2019, 3:53 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Ergh, I’ve been doing so many hours the past week, and next week looks to be the same. Management just don’t have their shit together and I’ve stupidly been agreeing to give myself Monday-itis by accepting the shifts when they’ve asked. The only one in turned down was the one when i was in Sydney (obvs) but other than that it’s been three-weeks in a row. Gonna have to put my foot down soon. I ain’t used to these 5-day weeks working every weekend. Anyway, sure, xtra moolah but in allowed to whinge for the sake of it.
Colleagues have just been on the wrong side of the bed this past week too. One of the casuals (who is normally a pretty quiet guy) had a go at me because it was pouring 9 bottles of expired milk down the drain. “What are you doing!?” he barks at me. Umm, dumping expired milk? What I always do? 🙄
Anyway, his issue was that it makes the area stink. Oh please, it does not. I think I would’ve realised that by now. Apparently he pours it down the sink instead. Umm, they’re both drains? Yeah cos I’m gonna lug a heavy crate of milk all the way to a sink to dump it when a drain is right outside the milk fridge 🙄
Anyway, stupid retail problems. It was a pretty good and productive work-week otherwise. For some reason, we’re open until 10pm every night this month, for the Brisbane festival. Even on Sundays. That made me laugh. I left 1.5 hours ago and I bet if I go back there now, there won’t be a single customer. Not sure who’s idea that was.
So I’m working tomorrow again. Apparently the dock guy is away. I saw on Facebook that it was his birthday yesterday, so that explains that. Dock is the easiest gig though. You unload a few trucks, fill the milk and eggs and waste the other 25+ hours of your full-time working week. He normally starts at 5am but I was like ‘fuck that’ and am coming in at a still disrespectful 6am instead. I’m sure the trucks will already be lined up waiting for me to open the door.

Anyway, how boring, writing about work. 😴😴 Write about the juicy stuff, Matt.

Well unfortunately there hasn’t been any, other than the usual nudes Nick keeps sending me. I’m starting to wonder what the point is if all this Snapchat flirting when nothing ever comes (ha!) of it. Yeah sure, I can see your gorgeous ass in my face, but why isn’t it actually IN my face? I guess I’ve already been there, but I’m clearly not one of those ‘already had you, I wanna fuck someone new,’ conquest-guy’s. If the guy is hot, and it’s good, why wouldn’t I want a repeat, or five?

Last Tuesday, I did what I said I was going to do, because I’m an insane person. I wanted to find out for sure IF it was possible to walk to/from our domestic airport (which is a $50+ cab/uber or $19 train each way). I wanted to know if in the event that I am very stuck, that it’s doable. I also tested out the other public transport option, of which there is only one, and took note of the last-connection times at each stop. That would obvs be the go-to option and I should try to time my flight return times to suit around them. But, on the event that I don’t make it by 6:50pm, or by 10:30pm to catch the overpriced-but-better-price-than-a-cab airtrain, at least now I know that it IS possible. It’d take at least a two-hour walk, but it is possible.
I just could not figure it out last week. I got as far as the international airport and then it just seemed to be a complete dead-end, despite Google Maps saying I could walk it. So… I walked it from the other direction. I caught the bus to Skygate (where I wanted to look for new work shoes anyway - didn’t buy anything, still too expensive despite being a ‘factory outlet) and then I just walked.
I tell you what, it was fucking weird though, almost as much so as the domestic to international walk was. On that walk, I had to walk through two full grassed areas to reach the next part of the footpath. I noted that it wasn’t something I’d tackle if it were raining. But THIS time, the footpath literally became a gravel side-road. Anyone lugging their heavy luggage after an international long-haul along that would be in for a surprise. I mean, I usually only have my small bag after a trip to Sydney. You then walk back onto a grassed area and walk under the train line which is overhead (which is actually VERY cool - seeing the airtrain fly overhead along a single elevated track), along a grate-bridge over a ditch (so obvi that has been installed for a reason - but yeah still really shit for luggage) and then I connected up with the spot where I was so confused last week from the other direction. It all makes sense! It is a lot of effort, time consuming and not worth the effort in most cases. All I’m saying is that it’s a two-hour walk to connect up with Toombul Station, which from there you’d catch the cheaper train to wherever you needed to go. And like I said, that’s only if one misses the free Skygate bus to DFO. I even took note that if I miss the last bus to Toombul from there, a bus goes the other direction 30 minutes later, from which I could get back home at a very late time from its final stop.
I know this is all very confusing, but yay for Matt’s life hacks! It’s the kind of shit I’d do too, cos I like beating the system, and obvi don’t have anything better to do with two hours of my day. Sydney is so much easier to get around their airtrain fare than it is here, but it is possible!
Just don’t have big luggage, kids, or be time constrained - none of which I have!


TL September 15, 2019

Well I’ll have to hit you up for advice if ever make my way down under

kmh. September 16, 2019

Haha that's a lot of effort to save a few quid, but hey, you had the time and fitness, so why the hell not!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.