Day by Day in Everyday Musings of a Very Tired Mama

  • Sept. 12, 2019, 1:53 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Finally got the report back from the doctor who did Pickle’s autism evaluation. Autism Spectrum Disorder, Conduct Disorder NOS, Speech Sound Disorder and ADHD. He also has Dysfunctional Elimination Disorder and needs glasses. Ugh, poor kid. Applying for a medical grant, enrolling in social skills classes, talk therapy, possibly ABA therapy. Amending IEP to see what additional services we might be eligible for.
He’s been having violent meltdowns lately. Three in less than a week recently. Usually brought on by frustration regarding the games on his tablet. So…we got rid of the tablet. Tablet free for more than a week now and he hasn’t even asked about it. I came thisclose to running the damn thing over with my car–instead I put it in the linen closet. We tweaked his meds too and it’s created a majorly positive change. Also adding required snacks to help with blood sugar issues that make him hangry. And getting rid of red dye. And daily Miralax and fiber supplements and magnesium supplements and pediasure and two prescribed medications. So much to keep on top of. There is no way I could do all this if I was still working. I don’t know how people do it who have to work full time and have lower functioning children.
I don’t know what my point to this post is, but the takeaway is that he is doing better and that is a blessing.


novelistbynite September 12, 2019

Welcome to the autism spectrum disorder family! Officially, I mean. Obviously, you've already been here a while. The ride be wild, the seatmate is loopy, and it's a trip. My Pickle is a girl. And I call her the Beast.

PickleMama novelistbynite ⋅ September 12, 2019

so nice to meet you!

novelistbynite September 12, 2019

You might be American, because IEP. If you are, google your state abbreviation and the acronym PAVE. They can help you get his IEP completely respected and they can help with a lot of other stuff, too. They're amazing.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.