Reasonable Man Theory in Life After 60

  • Sept. 6, 2019, 6:28 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Okay, to my female readers, Yes I am aware that Reasonable Man Theory is a myth, no man is reasonable, but humor me.
Reasonable Man Theory is a legal question as to what would a reasonable man (person) do in a given situation. Would a reasonable man try and save someone from drowning? I guess that would depend on if the person can swim. Not so fast! If you stand by and do nothing is that reasonable? You can call for help. Maybe you can find something to throw out to them that could save their life.
Where is really gets fuzzy is going to help your neighbor, who is being attacked, and you bring a gun. At least in my home state of Oklahoma, you can and will be arrested for doing such. I know. I was personally informed of such after going to my brother’s house with a gun to defend him. Of course, I told the officer I doubted that I would be convicted by a jury of my peers. But then again, I wouldn’t want some of my peers to judge me.
At the end of the day, it is true, no good deed goes unpunished. But I would rather be judged by 12 than carried by six. And for the record, good men are like handicap parking at Walmart, there are very few and usually, all taken!
Have a great day!


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.