Is Irritability One of the Dwarves? in Everyday Ramblings

  • Sept. 5, 2019, 5:08 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Holding onto Frida’s leash while gazing I tried to take a quick shot of this lovely leaded glass feature in the top of the gate to the back garden of a yard in north Portland. You can barely see it. Sigh.

Still… the whole yard presentation is nice. I enjoy the details.

If I don’t come back in my next life as an ice skater or wildlife photographer I’d take landscape architect. I outgrew wanting to be a fashion designer fairly early but I was serious enough about it to try a power sewing program when I was 18.

Today walking back from the bank midday I saw a young woman with a cart full of sewing machines. They were pastel colors and almost looked like full sized toys.

I have had a couple of days recently of extreme irritability. Not sure what is up with that but the cats are a factor. Diego in particular has been driving me slightly batty. He has been periodically nipping at my fingers when I try to type or use a mouse. And he keeps throwing up even though he is not ill in any visible way. His appetite and energy level are good.

But I worry and wonder if I should take him in for a checkup. There could be something underlying going on and in so many ways Diego is special.

Usually irritability is a sign I am fighting something off.

Kes and Most Honorable are relaxing and having a getaway for a week at the beach. The place where we stay periodically changes something and this time it is the living room furniture. I got pictures.

Because they are staying there now the owner generously gave us our four-day stay this year in late October for free! That is so cool. Only 7 weeks, not that there is any counting going on…no.

And this time next year this stupid job will be history!

It is of course a major factor on the irritability scale.

There are a bunch of new items on my things I don’t want to do list.

The woman at the church that puts out the Adult Program Guide “forgot” to put my class in the fall edition I found out Sunday so there is marketing in my future.

I used to be good at marketing. I got some great scores in terms of creating interest with things I did in San Francisco when I had my own business. I got on local radio and television and was featured in our local newspaper. It is not like I have a lack of ideas or enthusiasm for what I am teaching… It is more a lack of energy.

Last night I was thinking it sure would be nice to get some help.

And I don’t mean from Facebook. I have ideas, I have leads, I have a logo, it is the execution of all this and setting clear limits on what I am willing to do. No twice a week blog or podcast. I plain don’t have the energy for that and that and teaching online classes and heavy Instagram usage seem to be what most teachers are doing.

I need to set small manageable goals and get my yogic derriere in gear here. I am behind revenue wise from last year and the urgency has been easy to ignore with all the unnecessary drama with the job and my health. Not having to pay rent for the room is a factor as well.

Has anybody watched Diagnosis on Netflix? The episodes are relatively short and I found them completely riveting. And they certainly put anything I might be going through into perspective.

As a person who for years had an undiagnosed condition I totally could relate to these strong people. It makes a body think…ya know?


Last updated September 05, 2019


Jinn September 05, 2019

Could it be he has developed an allergy to their food ? I read that the filler in cat foods often do that .
I hope the stress starts to get less.

noko Jinn ⋅ September 06, 2019

Thanks. Something in the food is for sure a factor. I am trying various types to see if I can get him stabilized. It is frustrating that we can’t trust the food we buy for them and I hope I don’t need to get to a point where I need to make his food. I will if I need to though.

Jinn noko ⋅ September 06, 2019

I did that for Moxie for awhile, one of our dogs , as she was allergic to pork, beef, lamb, and poultry . She actually got hives ! Also she was thin :-( but finally I got her on salmon and rice I fixed . Then I switched her to a salmon type dry food and she has done well since .

Zipster September 06, 2019

I love that about walking, that you get to see the little details that you would not see driving or even riding a bike. A lot of cats have gastro issues, of varying sorts. Mine wa throwing up a lot and my vet recommended a prescription diet. He wouldn't touch the wet, but does eat the dry which seems to have helped with the vomiting. It has hydrolized protein. Gosh, if I had your work environment, I'd be irritable all the time; I think once you are outta there, everything else will be a challenge and not an irritant.

Marg September 07, 2019

I watched the last episode of Diagnosis and was encouraged to watch more. Nikki's watched them all though and thought it was really good.

noko Marg ⋅ September 07, 2019

I thought the first three episodes were the best, there were a couple where the family dynamic was challenging to watch and how stubbornness plays a role in health outcomes. It made me think!

I am assuming you saw this article in the New Yorker about drugs and CFS but just in case...
https://www.newyorker.com/culture/personal-history/a-town-for-people-with-chronic-fatigue

Marg noko ⋅ September 08, 2019

Thanks for passing that on - it was really interesting. I don’t get the chance to read any articles about CFS because, ironically, it takes energy I just don’t have! It does go against the grain though as that’s exactly what I would have done when I was healthy - read up on anything and everything and tried to find out all I could about whatever the issue was - now though I find just trying to keep up with the basics of life is challenging enough so these things tend to go by the board. Sometimes if someone sends me something like that though I’ll read it there and then so can get info that way :)

noko Marg ⋅ September 08, 2019

Oh gosh, that makes total sense. Thanks for pointing it out.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.