Writing in Everyday life

  • March 5, 2014, 7:10 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I used to think of myself as a writer, as a storyteller. The rush of writing a story on deadline, or of turning around a feature story while under the gun, got me to my happy place. Never made me orgasm, but probably came close once or twice. It was magical.

Now... meh. I'm definitely not a writer, I definitely don't tell stories in my every day job. I can't figure out whether I've lost that knack entirely, or whether it's just been on hiatus so long that I don't know how to reclaim it.

That's part of the reason why I rarely blog anymore. When I first started an online diary, I swear, it was one of the first things I did when I needed to vent. That's not true anymore. I don't even think of writing as something in my toolbox of emotional cleansing, something I can use to express myself.

I'd be curious to see feedback from any of you other writerly types out there.


Deleted user March 05, 2014

This keeps me in the game:

https://www.prosebox.net/entry/91365/flash-friday-3714-prompts-results-for-22814/

We've been doing this since Prosebox began. Details here: https://www.prosebox.net/book/242/

Try it! It's fun.

Deleted user March 05, 2014

I do find that when I write a lot of tech/nonfiction, it shuts me down for writing other things.

I've never been a big believer in writing as therapy or emotional release. It's more the thrill of hammering something out and finishing it that keeps me going.

You're absolutely right about the "happy place". We all need a happy place, and that's a good one to have.

WrittenWithin March 05, 2014

I feel the same as a kid i was an excellent writer and story teller, i left it all alone as a teen, now that im older and trying to find something to do with myself, i feel i had a talent that i threw away, now its so hard for me to write, it doesnt come as quick, im thibking i lost it, but im still trying to get it back, thats why i blog on here, im trying to find a better place to blog though this doesnt seem like the place

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.