Been Awhile in Dreams

  • Aug. 29, 2019, 9:12 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

My dreams have returned full force over the last few weeks. After enjoying a short sabbatical from them during the first trimester, I am once again steeped in veiled meaning and weirdness.

Last night I dreamed that I was working an old job I had right after college. Sometimes, in my dreams, the timeline is not quite certain, so I am not sure in what order things progressed. Or if it was a progression at all.
At this job I was attempting to figure out the sinks; a great long line of them. Normally we would’ve had the 3-part stainless sinks required for food operations, but this sink just kept going. It was many compartments long and spanned a whole wall, even rounding a corner and just vaguely continued on. I turned the water on, but discovered that there wasn’t a drain in any of them except the one at the most extreme end. So the sinks began to overfill, and within moments, the entire place was full of water up to my waist. I tried to turn the water off but it only made it worse; more water poured out. Water up to my chest now, I tried a different spigot, and it finally stopped. The water drained away as quickly as it had accumulated, through drains in the floor.
We had moved the business recently to a new city; one that is now known to have especially toxic water, but we didn’t know that back then. I complained to the owner about how the water stung my skin; and I wouldn’t work without waterproof gloves. He scoffed at me, saying the water was fine. It was city water, after wall; people drank it.

I was preparing my horse to go to adult day at fair- something I only did once in real life- and it was indeed my old horse that I took. Yet my youth 4H leader was there, helping me, and so was my mom. We hauled tack and equipment into the fair barns, but I was perplexed, even in the dream, as to how my mom and 4H leader were both there for adult day? Still, I was excited to see some of my 4H friends there and their horses. People and animals I’ve known and worked with for many years. I put my horse in his stall next to my friend’s… and I saw she had her horse from over a decade ago (now deceased), who looked in excellent health and appeared to be far taller than my horse or any other. It had always been something of an amusement for me- that she always had to have the tallest horse (or at least claim she did)- in my humble opinion because she didn’t have much else to claim for it.
I was quite happy- I always loved my horse, and he was perfect for me at the time- but I also kept thinking of my current horse (in real life) and why didn’t bring him? Cloud certainly wouldn’t do as well; but we’d have a blast doing it nonetheless.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.