Library in Days of My Destiny

  • March 5, 2014, 1:33 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This morning I had to go into town to do a stocktake of some leftover souvenirs from last year's Drovers Campfire. After that I had planned to go to the local library to use their WiFi and get some studying done. The library is closed on Wednesdays, so I drove to the next town, 50kms away, to use their library services. (The libraries are interconnected which means membership for one gives you membership for the other.)

A few frustrations are happening. The actual computer system is really really slow. The computer would not recognise my USB so I had to restart it, which took up a chunk of time. The search engine that my college uses is terrible, only giving a link to a link of an article I might want, but it's not the actual article. I can't figure out how to access the article. It makes me miss my UQ days, where things were up to date, up to speed, simple and effective. I decided to try my old UQ log-in details on UQ's library website, but they don't work. I am a former student who never actually finished any degree, which explains why. I also need to scan an assignment at the library, which will cost me $2 per page, so $28 in total. I facebooked about this and someone suggested I download a scanning app for my phone. I did that, but do not have the time right now to figure out how to scan fourteen pages as part of the one document.

My window is two hours. I've been here for one hour, and most of that time has been spent walking around trying to get help from someone, or sitting and waiting for something to load, only to find that it's not what I am after.

I came here quite positive and hopeful, and some of that hope has dimmed. But I will keep on working. After all, I do have another hour to make use of.

Edit And then when I finally rang the college to figure out why it was that I couldn't see the articles when I clicked on the links for them, I was in the middle of getting it figured out when the librarian came to me to whisper, "You shouldn't be using your phone near your computer." So I glared at her and walked out. Because I can totally follow the helper's instructions and click on links I can't see from outside. Seriously, universe, why today?

This whole entry should be titled, "Woman Makes Effort, World Does Not Care."

Lol. (That is actually funny, lololol.)


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.