REALITY in Postcards 4

  • Aug. 23, 2019, 4:49 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Two San Diego policemen at Comic Con.

I really didn’t want to do this last test. You knew that. But I showed up, not at all awake, without my teeth or hearing aids, without my meds, or coffee, or toast. Yes, the baseline test went well. The test is a Dobutamine Echocardiogram. A non-walking stress stest. The idea is to raise my heart rate without going over a certain level.

From where I laid, on my side, I could see the screen and the green line of my heart beat. From the minute the nurse began injecting the Dobutamine, my heart rate began to soar. Pretty soon the room began to fill with people including the lovely new doctor.

“We knew that was going happen,” she said almost joyously. The other cardiac man who was there agreed, as did two nurses and two techs. It was a small room.

My heart doesn’t like medications everyone told me.

They gave me another med that brought my heart rate down, and sent me home where I took a three hour nap. We got the loan from the bank, and if G goes off to the Friday Meeting I’m staying home and taking more nap.

Thank you all for caring and for your lovely notes.
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  • Himself: Starting work at 5, signing for life at 4.

  • Myself: Dozing, signing, dozing. At least I am cleared for surgery.

  • Photo: Mine: 2015.

  • Reading: The new Box.

  • Gratitude’s: George had a lot to put up with today.


NorthernSeeker August 23, 2019

Did you feel anxious when your heart rate went up? Ugh...that is a feeling I would not like. I'm glad you like your heart doctor. I hope you can just chill out for the weekend. I thought of you today. I was at a thrift shop and someone had donated stacks and stacks of quilting books....you might have been tempted to buy some.

Deleted user August 24, 2019

Glad you got that test over with !

Marg August 24, 2019

Ugh that doesn't sound like any fun at all - well done for getting through it - bet you're glad it's over!

aunty EM August 24, 2019

Hang in there, girl. Sending you good thoughts and many cyber hugs....

cricket_factor August 24, 2019

I'm glad that you made it through the test - emotionally, mentally and physically.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.