Eek I Had No Idea in Everyday Ramblings

  • Aug. 23, 2019, 11:18 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I looped around the big hill to the track after work yesterday to see what the new trees are. This is cool; the three are Jefferson elms. They are not native to the Western United States but are derived from a cutting of one tree on the Mall in Washington D.C., an elm that was planted in 1930 and is about 70 feet tall and resistant to Dutch elm disease.

It was a surprise to see non-natives and when I retire I will find out more about how the Urban Forestry folks make these decisions.

This week I won’t mention work other than to say that the toxicity is insidious and I am absolutely blaming my inability to lose any weight on the people I work for and with.

Opportunistic pandering is not something just going on in our nation’s capital these days. And I truly rue the day that with the best of intentions I supported promoted and protected Motorcycle Man.

I guess if it seems to be too good to be true…

I made a heart wrenching social blunder this week while teaching. I have a student that is so great, I adore her and on Wednesday she came by herself. I had a big class on Monday so it was just the two of us.

We chatted as I do when I am working one on one and I was excited to tell her the nugget of information I learned about how to get a traffic camera installed locally. I know she walks a lot.

She told me her life partner was killed last year crossing in a crosswalk with the light in the afternoon by a car turning into him. The driver cooperated with the authorities.

On my God, I had no idea.

I looked it up when I got home. This was last October; he was 82, a retired math professor that ran a local historic trolley for fun.

You just never know what people are going through. It is very sad.

Apparently one needs a top-loading washer to felt knitting projects. Kes has made some adorable gray slippers with a red snowflake pattern and so she is planning on coming up this weekend and hang out while they felt.

I am looking forward to it as I am spending too much time alone. Both Mrs. Sherlock and my online therapist have been on vacation this last week. The work stuff affects me more, even when I write about it privately, if I don’t talk about it.

The plumber guy came yesterday and installed a new disposal and fixed my sink. He also fixed my toilet that hasn’t been filling automatically for many many months.

I admit, even when I focus on gratitudes I don’t think I have ever said out loud how incredibly grateful I am for a functional kitchen sink. I live in an apartment so don’t have a basement sink and although I do have two sinks in my bathroom they are shallow and just not a useful substitute. Won’t be taking that for granted anymore.

We are turning straight into fall. The leaves are just beginning to change on the east facing Oregon maples and the light is changing every day.

And the weekend is very close.


Last updated August 23, 2019


Linda August 23, 2019

That wasn’t such a social blunder. It may have helped her to talk to you.

noko Linda ⋅ August 24, 2019

It is pretty precious of me to think I should have known when of course I didn't but still it was a shock. I know she enjoyed our time together and benefitted from the physical practice and that is in the end what matters.

Marg August 24, 2019

I never realised how much I would miss my kitchen sink but of course you're right - it would be a major inconvenience if it was out of action!
That's so sad about the partner of your student - quite a coincidence as well given what nearly happened to you.

mcbee August 24, 2019

I'm so ready for that turn into Fall. You Just keep counting those days left until retirement, it is there waiting for you and you can't let them wound your spirit in the waiting period.

woman in the moon August 24, 2019

The Jefferson elm leaves look like the elms that used to grow here. Sometimes they still try but the die before they get very big. One of the three big ancestral trees in the yard was a huge elm supposedly planted by the first lady of this house. My brother built a tree house in it. It died and has been gone a long time now - since the early 1980s I'd guess.

janeanger August 26, 2019

It's not a social blunder to talk about people's loved ones who have died! Often grievers are so freaking relieved when someone doesn't run screaming from the topic.

IpsoFacto August 28, 2019

Hello Old Friend. Always love your entries. I still think of Mr. Finch now and then.

noko IpsoFacto ⋅ August 28, 2019

Hi There. He was something, our Mr. Finch. 🙂

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.