VOLUNTEER PICNIC in Postcards 4

  • Aug. 18, 2019, 1:08 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Newly donated Vietnam era Jeep on display at the volunteer picnic.

Neither G nor I had the energy to fix food for the picnic, so we bought a carrot cake at Vons. Everybody likes carrot cake. We arrived on time for the food, and somebody made a magic potatoe salad. That was all gone by the time I reached it as was the carrot cake.

I ate, I schmoozed, and eventually the cold winds chased me away from socialites. I read quietly in Grumpy’s front seat while the picnicker’s faded away and the paid people broke down the tables and chairs. I dozed too. Good stuff dozing. Then home to find a wonderful photo book about San Diego from my librarian friend Katy. Thank you Katy!!!!

The paper bag wrapping for the book contained this additional note….perhaps for her kids….
“Wed.
Garden(s) watered last night.
Goats and Jaeger got double food this a.m. Water buckets full.
…………….Veggie Burgers
…………….3? hamburger patties
…………….buns in your freezer.
………………XOXO”

Looks like love fer sure.

Volunteer owned 72/73 Ford Pantera.


woman in the moon August 18, 2019

I like the red car ad I like the guys too. Nice combination.
Bless you, have a good rest of the weekend and next week too.

GypsyWynd August 18, 2019

What is magic potato salad?
For the record, I don't particularly care for carrot cake.

Marg August 19, 2019

Oooo nice car - look at all the bees round the honey pot :)
Glad the picnic went well - I agree there's a lot to be said for dozing!

Deleted user August 19, 2019

I love when I find notes, letters etc in used books I buy . Just a glimpse of who read them before me :-)

Hillbilly Princess August 19, 2019

🌷🌹🌸🌺

NorthernSeeker August 20, 2019

The pantera was a nice looking car. Too bad the good stuff was gone by the time you got to the buffet.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.