August 15, 2019 in Productivity Diary

Revised: 08/17/2019 11:38 a.m.

  • Aug. 15, 2019, midnight
  • |
  • Public

How will I even know that I will like law better?

Oh my life, oh dear me.

1:31 am and I can’t sleep without writing this down first. I think the point of Gorgias is for Socrates to point out how such a fashionable discipline as rhetoric in his time is actually not about the best things for human beings, because Gorgias and his disciples define “good and best ” to be that of having power over another. Here’s Socrates’ strategy:
-first he forces Gorgias into admitting a contradiction in calling rhetoric an art of speech with regard to the best human things.
-then with Polus Socrates clarifies his meaning further, and bring in his own notion of the good to the table.
-with his notion of the good, the virtuous life is the best life there is.

I think that while the Republic talks more directly about the good life for man, the Gorgias talks about it in an indirect manner. Which is always what Socrates is about.

8:59 am alright just get up. I can’t live like this anymore.


Last updated August 17, 2019


Deleted user August 17, 2019

It’s a lot of pressure. Hugs!

dancingstrawberry Deleted user ⋅ August 18, 2019

Thank you!! I guess there are worse haha!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.