HOT, HOT, HOT in Postcards 4

  • Aug. 15, 2019, 11:32 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I can’t believe it is August. In the 1950’s, July at Mrs. Duffy’s Ranch Camp for Girls was hot. In August it was unbearably hot. Here at the beach, it is just warm. My family are in the 80’s and 90’s. Bobbie, in the hills behind LA, is in the top 90’s. We are in the sixties at the moment, and still on hold.

CALLS: The bank calls every day wanting more information. Yesterday it wanted the papers that say the condo association does insure the outside of the building. The surgeon’s’ office called to apologize for saying that I drank 4 to 8 glasses of wine a day. That’s been removed from the report now. Something tells me that reports are automated.

I have been wondering if any of you read the links in other’s side columns. I do. You folks read some fascinating things. Invariably I end up watching a video on YouTube. Yesterday’s video takes a whole hour to get through. I found it fascinating, you might not. The QE2 was the last real ocean liner. Now she lies in the brutal heat of Dubai as a hotel.
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  • Himself: Termite inspection day. Right now he is auditing.

  • Myself: On hold, I’m doing better with everyday stuff. Strawberry Shortcake for dinner last night. Quesadillas for tonight’s meal. Laundry…that sort of focus.

  • Photo: Mine on a January day of the OB Pier.

  • Reading: E. Moon second to the last of the Vatta saga.

  • Gratitude’s: Endless. I sat for a while enjoying the green leaves outside the bedroom window.


Last updated August 15, 2019


woman in the moon August 15, 2019

I love the photo. My internet is slow and it appeared a line at a time from the top down. The sky and clouds and pier and ocean came at me as I absorbed them. That it was January somehow struck me even more.
Good luck in all endeavors.

Deleted user August 16, 2019

I can’t see the side columns because I am on my phone :-)

Marg August 16, 2019

By side columns do you mean folks' older entries? I do sometimes read them if something catches my eye.
Am I right in thinking some people thought the QE2 was haunted?

MageB Marg ⋅ August 16, 2019

No, it was the original Queen Mary folks thought haunted. The listings to the side of favorite blogs.

Marg MageB ⋅ August 16, 2019

Ah right - I remember watching a programme about it once so it must have been on the Queen Mary.

Adventure before Dementia August 16, 2019

Longest concrete pier in the world!
Glad you're doing somewhat better with everyday things.....

aunty EM August 16, 2019

I am relieved to see your entry today... Strawberry shortcake, indeed,

MageB aunty EM ⋅ August 16, 2019

Again tonight too. LOL

NorthernSeeker August 16, 2019

Sometimes I read the "this day in the past" links on other diarist's entries. Right now I'm churning desperately to catch up on noting so I have been adding anything extra on my plate. Mmmm...quesedillas and strawberry shortcake...my kind of food.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.