13 Years Ago Today... in The Tightrope Dance (August 2019)

  • Aug. 15, 2019, 4:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was enormously pregnant 13 years ago today. The twins were born at 12:51 and 12:53 pm. I can’t remember much (great drugs, no glasses) but I know they cried until they were placed into the same bassinet. They were so busy staring at one another later that it was comical. They weren’t terribly interested in me. That’s fine, though, I was literally dying of pneumonia at the time, and it took a while for us to make friends with one another. But they had one another from the first couple minutes on.

They are definitely bigger than 8 lbs now, and they have a lot more skills. Alas, they still trash their “room.” (My uterus is still enlarged, partially because of them, partially because I have adenomyosis.) My heart’s a little damaged. It pumped blood for three, though. (And to think, I just wanted one more. But I couldn’t give either back.)

Also, the 14th was Dad’s birthday, and I was blue all day. Nobody else seemed to care.

But today is the twins’ birthday, and I’ll make it as nice as I can. They’re getting Switch games as gifts, because that’s about all they’re interested in. If they’re interested, we might make bucket-list posters for their next year.

Not that I’m expecting anything exciting to happen. Honestly at this point I’m just hoping they don’t have to be quiet all day because he’s sleeping off a “migraine.”

We are, of course, broke. This is constant.
But I was smart this year, I bought the cake stuff ahead of time. There’ll be cake. And gift. (Each, naturally.)

So here’s hoping the girls have a happy thirteenth birthday. I’m gonna head up in a bit and play them the teenager song. It amuses me.

For now, I should go get that cake layer out of the oven…and remember, I gotta buy another round cake pan someday.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.