August 9, 2019 in Productivity Diary

Revised: 08/10/2019 2:52 a.m.

  • Aug. 9, 2019, 1 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The day is counting and the clock is ticking. The inevitable is going to come.

But I should remember what a nervous wreck I was when I started working in the Admission Office at my college, and I had to begin giving campus tours to prospective students and families. I was SO NERVOUS. I pushed off doing that for WEEKS!!! It was embarrassing. I never thought I could give a one hour speech while walking to complete strangers. I shadowed once. Then I shadowed another time. Then I did it once. It went okay. I was still really scared and avoiding it still. Then I did it another time. And then, at some point, I began to LOVE, LOVE, LOVE doing it. I thought it was the perfect job for me because I liked people and I loved my college experience and I had a lot to share about studying and such.

alt text

Image link: https://www.oswego.edu/news/sites/www.oswego.edu.news/files/styles/panopoly_image_original/public/openhousetour.jpg?itok=sP5mRNIp

When I signed up to be a listener on 7 Cups of Tea I was SUPER NERVOUS and messed up my first chat too (wasn’t prepared). Now I’m pretty fine. I’m not real good at this job and hence I gave it up, but I could take chats now and feel absolutely no anxiety (the reason why I signed up for that volunteer job was because I met my absolutely favorite person while he was in that role).

I think, I hope, something similar will happen with teaching. It’ll be fine. Now I just have to do the best I could with preparing.

Why, why do I have to teach college kids?

Well okay, for tonight.
-Answer Dad’s email about law school
-Teaching prep in general
-Preparing lectures from Day 1
-Answer an email

10 minutes each

I haven’t been doing anything. Why?
11:12 pm answer Dad’s email about law school.
1:23 am I admit failure for today. Gotta try harder on Saturday. I will decide to be STRICT in keeping my resolution to not look at entertainment materials (well I went from law videos to clips from The Social Network)

I really, really have to do better tomorrow. The thing is, things just take longer than I intend them too.

I just have to work. No more distraction.


Last updated August 10, 2019


Deleted user August 11, 2019

7 cups of tea?

dancingstrawberry Deleted user ⋅ August 11, 2019

Ya, it's a website for emotional support, where you can sign up for private 1-1 chats with a free listener, and in turn you may also volunteer as a listener on the site too.

It's a great idea for a website and the people who runs it have good professional standards and policies (the problem is to enforce them thoroughly). It's rather a hit or miss because you still have to deal with real people, but sometimes an amazing encounter happens :)

Deleted user dancingstrawberry ⋅ August 11, 2019

That is interesting !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.