Lost, found, freaky. in The Tightrope Dance (August 2019)

  • Aug. 10, 2019, 8:52 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Found a lost debit card in a parking lot. Felt terrible about calling it in lost (there’s a number on the back) but what else can you do? I think I had the right person on Facebook, but they didn’t answer and I wasn’t comfortable having their banking deets right in my hand. I mean, seriously, I could get into a heap of trouble with their card, and that would suck for us both. I guess it’s great that I hate trouble, and I’m stupidly honest. Their card is destroyed, their bank account is secured, and they’ll be okay, unless something bad happened to them before I did. I doubt it, though. At least, I hope nothing worse than me happened to them today.

Seriously, I’m bad enough.

So, was at Costco, trolling the aisles, looking for bargains big enough to offset the yearly membership fee. For those of us with multicats, they have 8 Frontline packets for $76. I usually pay $108 at Petsmart for Advantage II, so that’s a savings, if Frontline doesn’t suck. But that’s only half the cost of the membership saved: do I want to bet that I’ll save $30 on regular purchase shit (the extra Spouse will spend once he’s in there notwithstanding…he likes expensive cheese, and snack food packages, and, you know, dumb man shit.

Not to mention that I have to find the cash to use on the groceries I’d buy there. I don’t get a lot of cash monthly. I do get SNAP, but I get a pittance, and I don’t know if you can use it there (and it would not go far.) They do take EBT, but there are more EBT outlays than SNAP. I should have checked with the concierge desk there, but they were slammed (as ever) and I didn’t remember to ask. I would need access to a freezer to make some of the deals deals - and it would need to lock, because snack-whores live here. Mine does lock, but it’s literally buried under trash. So, Spouse would need to rent a dumpster, then he’d need to pull the freezer out and hose it down (because there was a power outage one year…)

He promised he’d take care of that THAT year, and I don’t even remember what year that was anymore. At least three years ago. Four. Before the Long Waiting Period. I used to cook for the freezer, and that freezer was amazing. I got so many bargains into it. But then we lost Great Big Fridge (it was restaurant size) and now we have Tinyfridge, and Tinyfridge sucks. It’s a side by side. It’s so narrow you have trouble getting a 9x13” pan in. I miss freezing shit. I could cook for a month in just a few days (casseroles in the afternoon, big bags of meatballs, meat loaves, side dishes, etc.) You save a lot when you can buy a ton the same and use it all.

But then Laziness Strikes, and you’re left floundering for your old efficiency. I want a new partner. I want someone I can depend on. I want these to be the same person.

I have to go let my iced coffee out now. And buy kitty litter.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.