Short...With Trees in Everyday Ramblings

  • Aug. 9, 2019, 6:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This oak is really old, maybe from 1826 they think. The walnut to the right is old too and we think that maybe that is a blue spruce to the left.

That is not Frida, but a new dog acquaintance with a wonderful tireless person pitching balls at her in the dry grass. This bluff has an amazing view down river. There is a big fence though. Frida is not much of a ball dog; she mostly likes to romp around. Romping did occur here too.

I’ll see her tomorrow. Yippee.

Today is Most Honorable’s birthday. He was invited up here for lunch and so they are driving up to be taken out to lunch by a close friend. The traffic here is absolutely the worst on Friday afternoons and when it is bad it is very very bad so they are going to come over afterwards and hang out until it clears a bit

Our senior VP of Human Resources resigned over the trolling the union incident but as far as we all know the guy that works in my area and admitted to messing with the negotiations and trying to encourage workers not to pay their union dues is still employed.

He’s just taking a few weeks off.

I am taking next Friday off and will go down and spend the better part of the day with Kes and Most Honorable. I am trying to get down there at least once a month or so as Kes is not driving as much as she used to and she is coming up in mid September to bring me home after my colonoscopy. I know I will be loopy from the drugs and trust her not to take anything I say seriously.

That reminds me, I need to order the prep for that. This is one of those times one can be particularly grateful to live alone.

I am trying to get all these diagnostic tests done now. I want to get the new Shingles vaccine too but the supplies on that are limited right now.

But in the meantime it is summer and I need to have some fun.

Just need to figure out what that is.


Ragdolls August 10, 2019

I had an extremely large oak tree die on my property a few years ago. The tree men that took it done estimated it to be between 330 to 360 years old. (Quite the discussion arose about the age) They cut a slice to keep and hauled the rest of it to a local saw mill & sold it. Cost me a pretty penny to take it down and they kept whatever they were paid for the wood. I now have a large planter sitting on the enormous stump.

Marg August 10, 2019

I didn't see the dog until you pointed it out!
Nice to be able to just disappear for a few weeks when you've created your own shit and thrown it at the fan.
Hope you had a lovely time with Most Honorable!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.