A mature crowd in Adventures in paradise

  • Aug. 4, 2019, 8:36 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had dinner at Rhys and Luke’s place last night, and met their friends, Gray and Ollie. They appeared to also be a couple, given they way they were interacting. I figured probably a long-term couple like Rhys and Luke are now. Rhys and Luke were bickering over the air-conditioner not being left on the same setting it was previously. I was like, “So is this what married-life is like?”
Luke was just like, ‘Oh you have no idea.” HA.

Anyway, dinner was dumplings, which was something different. They were pretty authentic too, bought from an Asian supermarket in Sunnybank (which is out Asian suburb) and there were a few varieties. They didn’t really fill me up much though, and I’d gone there straight from work so was tired and hungry haha but hey, they tied me over. They even had this weird Filipino dessert thing with duck-egg topping which just tasted weird to me. I could eat the pastry but I had to leave the topping in my napkin. Guess I’m just not cultured.

We played a game afterwards, called “Hot Seat”, which I’d never played before. It was like a lame ‘Cards Against Humanity’ where a person would pick three cards, choose the one they liked most, read it out and then everyone would write down their answer. If someone’s matched the same answer as the person in the ‘hot seat’, they’d get 4 points. If someone guessed which one the hot seat person had written, they’d get 1 point. It was quite lame I thought haha, but we had some laughs regardless. The game was about how well you know your friends, and given I’d only just met two of the guys (Ollie and Gray), it was a bit skewed. Naturally, Rhys won by miles. Luke kept blurting out his answer before anyone could guess ^rolls eyes^.
Of course, one of my cards was “If my last sexual encounter was a movie title, what would it be called?”
I wrote down ‘Wank in a bathroom’ but some of the responses from others were pretty funny. Another card I got was something about personalised orgasm noises, and someone wrote down ‘Ohhh ohhh ohhh *said in a Xena: Warrior Princess cry’ LOL. I’m guessing that was probably Steve haha.
A lot of the answers to questions asked were to do with fisting haha. None of my answers were, but good to know I was with a mature crowd :P

Anyway, of course the facebook screenshot conversation was brought up and everyone had a bitch about how that went down. Luke thinks Ben was completely in the wrong, and Steve was almost going to reply with, “OH, so they guy who never says anything or participates in ANYTHING we organise suddenly has something to say??” Hahaha. Steve always had a feeling Ben didn’t like him, and now feels that this proves it.
So let’s just say, shit will probably go down ‘Real-Housewives’-style if we ever all get together as a group. I feel like Ben will make an excuse not to go. I feel like I get along with him okay, but I wouldn’t exactly call him a friend lol. He’s still my friend’s boyfriend.

So I was anxious about meeting Luke’s friends, but they turned out to be just chilled guys. Very interesting couple. I think it’s because Luke can be a bit full-on sometimes, so I thought maybe they’d be the same. Even last night Steve was talking about how he’d had cupping done and Luke was saying to just wait until the next day because it will look worse and look like he has AIDS. Like we were all laughing, but man, it’s pretty dark humour considering we’re all gay men at the table lol.

Steve kindly picked me up from work and also dropped me home again afterwards. I said I’d pay for his Madonna-night ticket in two weeks if he wants to go, since I owe him anyway. It could be something different and Lord knows I never go out anymore, so I hope he comes with. My friend KT said she’s going too, so I’ll know her, but I’m sure she’ll be with her group, but she did ask if I was going, so that was nice.


TL August 04, 2019

You guys played the Snatch Game? lol

KissOfLife! TL ⋅ August 05, 2019

Haha one card I had was a fill-in-the-blank question, so, yes! We should dress up next time. I'd so be Mandy Moore :P

TL KissOfLife! ⋅ August 05, 2019

I would so be Kristen Wiig and just do her iconic SNL characters

~Octopussy~ August 07, 2019

That game is just idiotic. I played it with my aunts recently and it was just.... stupid.

KissOfLife! ~Octopussy~ ⋅ August 08, 2019

It really was!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.