Yarrow and Fireweed soap in Tales from the kitchen witch

  • July 27, 2019, 11:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I decided to make a new infusion for soap today.
I was reading about yarrow and wild roses, But the wild roses stopped blooming weeks ago. What is blooming is our amazing fireweed! And yarrow haha.

So my infusion is going to go as follows. First i need to dry out both flowers. This will take a few days, Or i can pop them in the oven. Either way. They need to be dry.

Now because im going to use up my melt and pour soap base. i dont have to do much haha. Dry it out and add it directly to the melted soap. I may add a few drops of EO for some extra scent boost. We will see.

Its going to take a few days to prepare the flowers anyway, so i cant make it tonight.

Now if you do a cold process soap, You want to dry the flowers, infuse in your favorite oil and use that oil in place of the other oil in the soap. I want to use up my M+P base which is oatmeal and goats milk.

Im also going to make a few bars of my aunties favorite clary sage and lavender soap for her. So she has some before i leave.

Oh this yarrow is strong! :D

Its time to make my hand creams but i havent felt like doing it yet. My oil infusions are going to be SO strong haha.


Deleted user July 29, 2019

It sounds lovely. I should look into melt and pour soap !

ChainedChrysalis Deleted user ⋅ July 30, 2019

You can get the base at michaels. You literally melt it in a double boiler. put in what you want for scent or exfoliant. Then pour it into a mold and let it harden back up. Its super easy. I make a lavender and clary sage for my aunt. A minty and sage for my mother in law. My husband likes a glycerine base that i hate. So ill make wild orange with vanilla for me, and mint for him or coffee. You can use coffee grounds. Super easy!

Deleted user ChainedChrysalis ⋅ July 30, 2019

Thanks! I need to try it !

ChainedChrysalis Deleted user ⋅ July 31, 2019

I think the base costs around 12 dollars ,but if you bring a coupon, you can make a lb of soap for 6-7 dollars.
I like to use essential oils for scents.
Peppermint and ecualyptus are great for when you are sick too! I want to use up my lb and a half before i go. Maybe ill sell a couple haha.

Deleted user ChainedChrysalis ⋅ July 31, 2019

I hope so !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.