Roll-eyes in Stuff

  • July 24, 2019, 9:59 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

At the gym, taking it easy on the bike, so thought I’d update with an entry.

The guy I ‘tasked’ to fix the paint on my wall bailed on me on Wednesday. Initially he said Monday, then Tuesday, which became Wednesday morning, so I waited around all morning wasting the day waiting for him, only to get an apology SMS come through around 12:45pm. Something had come up and he wouldn’t be working that day or the next (Thursday - now.). He said he could do it Friday morning instead if I wanted.
Initially I was quite pissed off. This wasn’t the first, or even second reschedule. And my ad states that I can’t do Friday’s (unless it’s night) as that’s my big day at work.
I was all sassy-bitch-101 & about to cancel the job and ask someone else to do it, but opted to check the terms and conditions before doing so. Just as well I did. Apparently Airtasker holds onto my money as their version of “Store Credit” which has to be used within the following 12 months. 🙄
So that annoyed me even more. I can’t stand companies that have that policy and usually actively avoid them if I’d known about it, but alas, I got caught out. So sure, I could cancel it, and potentially give it to someone else instead, but I was so annoyed I was hoping to get a refund and just delete Airtasker cos of their shitty policy. I’ve since learner there is a tradie app called ‘Hipages’, but I’m unsure if they have the same policy.
So anyway, long story short, I explained I couldn’t do Friday and this guy has now suggested “first thing Monday morning”.
Umm, yeah, we’ll see. I’m just annoyed I gave to waste probably another day. If he reschedules again, I’m probably just gonna cover the paint-strip with a picture or something until after the inspection. Our of sight, right?

Nick’s still sending me nudes, which I fucking love, but I didn’t even reply to the one yesterday. I’m hoping it sends a message that I want more action than constant flirting, but it’ll prob backfire and I won’t get anymore nudes lol. I mean, what, am I meant to just keep replying with a 👅 emoji? Seems a bit repetitive, really.
Alex sends me nudes too, but they are a little weird from him. He’s cute and all, just very different personalities. Both past housemates! I think it’s cos Nick’s a bad-boy, and we all know girls love a bad boy and nice guys like me finish last.

I got mispaid by an hour at work last week. I’ve since learner that if I work a 10-hour day that I am meant to take an hour break and there’s no way to override it. I didn’t know that! I did three of them last week cos we were so screwed. And I do one every week on Friday’s, so apparently all this time I’ve been taking 30 minute breaks on that day, I’m meant to have been taking an hour! That’s at least a few months that I’ve been doing an extra 30 minutes for no reason 🙄. Anyway, the invoice lady is kindly fixing it up for me in next week’s pay.
Oh well, it’s good to have learned that ,(cos I would have kept doing it!), and I am looking forward to taking an hour on Friday’s from tomorrow! Geez Louise.

Oh I also had a haircut on Tuesday! It was unexpected but I got a Snapchat message from my previous housemate, Kurt (one who isn’t sending me nudes, but I’ve seen pics of his boyfriends dicks in various Snapchats lol. Yes, he’s the one who has two boyfriends and is in a throuple relationship.)
Anyway, his workmate needed a male model to work on, and since this painter had rescheduled until Wednesday, and I needed a haircut anyway, I thought, ‘Why not?’
Kurt’s changed salons so I had to catch two buses to Red Hill, which was fine. It’s still an inner-city suburb.
It was a strange salon though. It appeared to be like the lower half of a Queenslander house with most of the rooms removed, mirrors and chairs along one wall. It was great to see Kurt, but I didn’t get to chat to him much, as I was there to see ‘Taylah’ for the cut.
Man, she certainly was nervous, the poor girl. I was the only one in this spacious salon the entire two hours or so I was there. It was just me, Taylah, Kurt and Jack, who I assumed was the salon owner, as the name ‘Jack’ was a part of the sign outside.
Anyway, I won’t go on forever, but Jack was a very good teacher to Taylah. She was so nervous and unsure of how to do things, even the positioning of her hands when cutting my hair. But it was a set of steps, sectioning by section, starting at the back, then each side, and finally the ‘crown’. I was amazed at how good my hair looked with only the back and sides having been (eventually) done. Taylah had to keep checking with Jack that emshe was doing things right. He kept asking her questions, rather than giving her answers, getting her to think about a solution. He would say, “Now we have an idea of what likes done with his hair, how would you accentuate that?” and questions like that. The poor girl would be like a deer in headlights haha. She wanted to do so well but just wasn’t sure. Then Jack would explain how my jawline was compared to naybe someone else with a stronger jawline, and how doing a certain cut could potentially end up looking like a military-look. “Is that what Matt wants?”
“No?..” she would meekly answer. It was actually very cute.
“Exactly,” Jack would confirm.

The most amazing part of my haircut was the razor. It was also the most scary. Giving this poor, already nervous, girl, a razor to cut my hair with. It was especially scary around my ears and it crossed my mind that I may be leaving there without one, or two, lol. But he explained and showed her how safe they were against his hand.
And she ended up doing an amazing job. I tried encouraging her throughout as well. I didn’t care if she made a mistake. Hair grows back. My ear, I’m unsure of HA!
In fact, it’s one of my favourite haircuts I think I’ve had. The razor technique gives such an edgy look to my hair all over.
I had respect for Jack as a mentor and giving this shy girl a go. I made sure to tell her I thought she did an amazing job when it was over. She seemed very appreciative.

I’ve rolled my eyes twice in this entry, so that’s enough for today.


Last updated July 24, 2019


crunchie July 25, 2019

Good on you for letting her practice on you. No matter the job everyone is a learner at some point and need practice to get the experience. I’m glad you left with 2 ears and a good hair cut 🤣

crunchie July 25, 2019

I am not even kidding but I once let the student doctor or maybe she was a nurse do my pap smear. Everyone needs practice but this bloody uncomfortable and embarrassing procedure took about 4 times the amount of time one usually takes because the doctor kept getting her to stop “ohhh look at her cervix” “can you see this etc etc”. I wanted to die but the student was so appreciative that I let her do it 🤷‍♀️

KissOfLife! crunchie ⋅ July 26, 2019

Omg I don't feel so bad now! Wow, I didn't even consider those other jobs they need to train at wow haha.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.