The Updates! in These Foolish Things

  • July 18, 2019, 4:13 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The Update on Easy E: Read yesterday’s entry if you haven’t yet - the backstory is there. I was still so upset by the end of the day yesterday that I told my mom about it on our nightly phone call. My mom was very calming when we talked about it - even telling me stories of how she could relate to it. I thought, this is what moms are SUPPOSED to do! She’s only done so much of that my whole life, but last night made me feel a little better, I think. Still, I didn’t get much sleep last night. Was worried about how today might go. We haven’t spoken to each other at all today and it’s already well past lunchtime. I am fine with that. I talked with Goldilocks about it and she said that Easy E told her that she lost her temper with me and that she felt bad, but that she wasn’t going to talk with me yet because she thinks I’m MAD as hell at her. I’m not mad. Not in the least. My feelings are just VERY hurt. I can’t remember the last time my feelings have been so bruised. I will probably take another day and the weekend to let the dust settle and chill about it and then I’m sure we’ll be back to talking. I can’t let her retire and leave forever with bad feelings.

The Update on Doctor D: It seems that just when you are able to let someone go they can sense it or something. He sent me an article today via text that he’d seen in the Washington Post and thought that I would find it interesting. Sure enough, it was the perfect thing to text me and it opened our communication window right back up. He asked questions and I answered and we engaged in a really nice exchange. Very smart. Nothing sexual. It was nice. At the very least I hope we stay friends. I love having the good doctor in my life. It also won’t hurt my feelings if we wind up in bed again together. I don’t know if he’s back, but at least I know that he’s not ghosting.

The Update on Life Coach: I canceled (see previous entry) for a Saturday meetup. I just was not getting a good vibe about him driving the three hours to meet without him having any plans on where he was going to stay. I sent him a text asking him if we could talk last night. He said yes, that he could FaceTime. Which, okay…but weird since I was going to probably tell him not to come. Plus, I was already in bed by the time he could talk. Anyway, we connected and I just came right out and said I wasn’t feeling a good vibe about Saturday and he went on some rambling, blubbering speech about how he had gone so far as to “look for a hotel” to stay (but of course, hadn’t booked anything) and then went on another rant about some musician he’d been working with because he can “read people” really well and yada yada. Clearly he hadn’t read me because he STILL kept talking about wanting to sleep in the same bed and I was like, that’s not gonna happen. I rendered him speechless. We just looked at each other on screen for the longest time until I told him I had to go. He was like, OK. I was like, click. AWKWARD!!!!

The Update on Rodeo Clown: No. He’s not really a rodeo clown, but he might as well be. He’s funny and jolly and clever and makes me laugh through text alone. He has a southern drawl (I know because I’ve googled many, many TV shows and videos he’s been featured in). He’s a character. I’m still seeing him on Friday after work in his city. I’m very much looking forward to it. He’s been texting me here and there every day this week. It’s nice and not too much and he’s just hilarious. I have a good feeling.

The Update on Others: Have been in a Bumble frenzy lately, so I’m hoping for a few more Rate-a-Dates down the road. More to follow soon, I hope!

The Update on Dream Job: No news is good news? The last I heard from the HR person from the company was right before the 4th of July telling me that the “top candidates” are still under consideration and that he’d be back in contact regarding a project that they were going to ask the highest potential candidates to complete. Now. I don’t love having to do projects gratis, but that’s kind of how this industry works, so I don’t really have a problem with it, but I’m hoping that it’s not a huge one. It’s not supposed to be and it’s really uncool if it is, but we’ll see. But first, I must get the call-back. Again, not in a huge hurry to hear from them as I’m in a busy time at work…

The Update on Weight: All I have to say is… I LOVE WEARING SKINNY CLOTHES!! Two people have asked me if I’ve lost weight and said it’s noticeable. 16 pounds down. Can’t believe I’ve done this after quitting Orangetheory. Wild, eh? Not complaining.

The Update on Injury: Feeling good since Monday. Little twinges here and there, but nothing like the weird headaches on Monday. STILL waiting for the neuro interventionist to call me back with a date/time for my next CT Angiogram scan to see if the aneurysm is shrinking/growing/remaining the same. This is VERY frustrating. I think I will call…

More Updates soon, I’m sure,
GS


The Thirsty Oriental July 18, 2019

Glad you’re not being ghosted! Good luck with the job!

bobbi01 July 18, 2019

She needs to Apologise! I agree you don't want to part ways like that, but clearly she knows she overstepped. Grrr. I think you might the right decision re life coach, but I am confused about Rodeo Clown - have we met him before?

Deleted user July 18, 2019

More like LOLCoach, amirite?

Gangleri July 19, 2019

Life Coach is an idiot.

Marg July 19, 2019

Definitely dodged a bullet with Life Coach!
Good to see Dr D is still around.

Deleted user July 21, 2019

I do not think he was a Life Coach . Probably a code for ; Unemployed and broke :-)

plushcreep July 21, 2019

I had an interview last year where I had to come up with a list of marketing ideas on the spot. Didn't get the job, but there were some good ones in there, and I've often wondered if they might secretly use a few of them. Ha. Good luck on the job front AND the Bumble front!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.