That's Carya Ovata To You in Everyday Ramblings

  • July 17, 2019, 5:39 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This was a front garden on our walk on Saturday morning. Gladiolas are so fleeting in their beauty and these were perfect.

It is gray and windy here today and we may get a little rain later but now it is gloomy. And this suits my mood.

I’ll be teaching in a few hours and I hope that cheers me up.

Tomorrow I see my doctor to talk about the drugs I am on and to see if I can get something for anxiety just so I will have something to help deal with the work stress.

If that is not an option then I am pretty sure I am going to take a medical leave and I may do that anyway.

Yesterday I met with Mr. On the Spectrum and the HR guy. The HR guy has small solid block tattoos, one on the inside of his forearm and one on the outside of the other forearm. I noticed these things during our uncomfortable meeting.

They brought out my position description from seven years ago. Seven years old and in a half hour they want me to tell them how my position has changed and then obviously because we didn’t have time they asked me to revise it.

Considering the fact that my boss doesn’t have any idea what I do…I said yes but I was pissed. I feel at this point with the raging cluelessness and neglect and devaluation of my position that I am not going to do anything in addition to what I am already doing.

I am not fixing anything.

So…clearly coached…there were no angry outbursts this time, he took it back and says he will take first pass at it. When I get it I will modify to look good for an up-classification.

Other than one specific shift in responsibility, (which I suggested because again, no clue) nothing has changed other than I have to have an extra meeting with Mr. On the Spectrum each whenever.

So here we are 5 months out from when I started expressing concerns to anyone that would listen and nothing has changed other than this one little process thing. No additional money, continued overtime, extra reporting and…

Oh, and the stress is manifesting in my body in a deliberate and dangerous way.

I am finding solace in trees. I found out yesterday that there is a rare shagbark hickory two blocks up from where I live. Apparently they produce nuts (that are supposed to be the best) on their own time and are not reliable so that is why they are not cultivated for food.

Ours is 63 feet tall and is listed as #174 on our heritage tree list. I don’t know how old it is but this plot, which is a park but used as the private playground for the Cedarwood Waldorf School, a hotbed of anti-vaxxers.

They are off for the summer so it is safe to roam around the small park that used to be a luxury estate. That end where the hickory is; was the contemplation garden I believe. I have a map somewhere that shows the large chicken coop was over near my end.

So now I know all the heritage trees in my area. But I also got a list of all the street trees in the city. We have 13,683 cherry trees! We have 19,209 Norway maples. That I believe.

Kes told me about this app called iNaturalist and I downloaded it on Sunday and wandered around taking pictures of trees up in the park the track is in. It gives you suggestions based on your location about what it is and if you like you can upload it and someone who actually knows about this stuff will confirm it for you.

I found out that the tulip tree is a poplar and is only distantly related to magnolias.

I love this stuff! Knowing the trees will help me know the birds and that will keep me busy and out of trouble through my whole retirement.

Whenever the heck that begins.


Last updated July 17, 2019


Lyn July 17, 2019

Gorgeous flowers.

Wishing you stress relief.

Marg July 18, 2019

Trees do provide great solace it's true. These are beautiful gladiolae - those two colours go so well together.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.