Hurt Feelings in These Foolish Things

  • July 17, 2019, 11:45 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

God. This morning started out lovely with a leisurely time getting ready for work and a fun commute in the sunshine with the top down and the music blaring. It was one of those carefree mornings, dropping the dog off at her daycare and knowing that today I wouldn’t have one of those crazy days trying to get ready for an important meeting with the boss or customer presentation.

But as soon as I got to the office and sat down with my chai tea, I was BLASTED by Easy E who is my former assistant - no longer my employee but still supports me. She’s simply a little ball of energy and I’ve always loved her a lot…but FUCK. She ripped me a new one because of something I’d asked a factory to confirm. She said if something changes with the factory she’d have to do her part all over again!!! Like, she YELLED at me! Good GOD.

She’s retiring next week and has just had it, and I understand that, but I’ve always, always tried to be nice to her and for the most part she’s been okay and even quite fun to work with, but that shit has kind of ruined my morning. I could feel my blood pressure rise.

She’s very, very big on the whole “you’re not my boss” bullshit and quite frankly, I’ll be glad when she’s gone. I’m over her. I could hear her whispering about me to the new assistant - she’s training her right now. UGGHHH. This is bullshit. I can’t believe my feelings are so hurt. This makes me really sad. I wish I could just brush this off. I’m going to try…

I just took a ½ valium.

Something else my overly-sensitive heart can’t take right now: Doctor D unmatched with me on Bumble. I get it I guess. Maybe he was cleaning out his Bumble account and we already know each other pretty well. But the thing is, I haven’t heard from him at all for several days so I’m just going to take that as a signal.

It’s like I told [Athena] and Karl at dinner on Sunday evening - if he wants to get together for more sexy times, I’m game. But I’m definitely not holding my breath for a boyfriend/girlfriend sitch.

And you know I’m already getting back out there again. Two-ish dates this weekend…Friday for sure and now maybe Saturday. I’m getting nervous about the guy who lives 3 hours away. I think he might have expectations that I’m not able to live up to - as in, him spending the night with me.

The thing is, you’d think that a Life Coach (what he does among other things) would be sensitive to meeting someone for the very first time in a different town, right? But he has been texting sexual innuendos and asking me about spending the night at my place - which I nipped in the bud right away and he seems to suggest that we’ll just wait and see. This is confusing and concerning to me. I’m tempted to rescind the invitation to meet me.

Valium’s kicked in. What a wonderful thing. I am cool as a cucumber now.

OK. Better get back to business. Easy E ain’t got shit on me now…

Over it,
GS


Last updated July 17, 2019


Florentine July 17, 2019

I think you should go with your gut on the life coach (I agree with Elaine re: wariness of anyone who claims that anyway!). Rescind if you're feeling even a teensy anxious. I feel like he's going to keep pressing and you're going to feel obligated to give in a little because he drove in and etc. I mean, maybe you have more fortitude than I do, but I'm the type to always try and be accommodating.

Also, I was thinking. Have you mentioned your perimeters to Dr D? Gave him some straight talk like you did in this entry? Send him a note and tell him that you had a TON of fun in bed with him and that you'd be interested in keeping that going when he has some time but you also know that it might not be more than a sexual relationship and you're OK with that right now. Sometimes it's nice to be direct about what you want and Dr D sounds like the type who would value that greatly.

Athena July 17, 2019

F Easy E!

bobbi01 July 17, 2019

Yelling at work is never ok. Good riddance!

Deleted user July 17, 2019

I’m appointing myself a life coach and telling that so-called life coach that he can go kick rocks barefoot 🙂

drawnwell July 17, 2019

Oh hell no on the life coach.
Probably owns a franchise to sell copycat misspelled perfume as well... or does smoking cessation hypnosis classes.

Gangleri July 17, 2019

Man. Sad she can’t make it to the end without bride burning.

Marg July 18, 2019

That woman needs to go. Now.
I'd be wary of the Life Coach when he's coming all that way. Thing is anyone and their Granny appears to be able to get those kind of qualifications these days - it can mean doodly squat in terms of personality.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.