The Back Porch in A New House on a New Landscape

  • July 17, 2019, 3:56 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

When I am sitting at my computer, I look through the faux french door back door (only one door opens, the other is decoration. Alas, a stupid design if there ever was one) Today it is filled with the green of beautiful foliage of a rich summer of rain.

The back porch of your life is a place of comfort, away from the prying eyes of the general public. Family may visit there, friends are welcome there, and pets might be permitted. Your backyard is strictly what you make it. If you don’t mow it down, then it’s an overgrown mess with things lurking in the tall grass and shrubbery. If you keep it trimmed and add decoration, then your private little space becomes more of a haven. These decisions are strictly up to you, and no one can force you to do anything.

My back porch contains a grill. I never touch this item, as it designated it to be my husband’s job, and therefore his grill. The back porch in my mind has a fire pit, and a pergola with porch swings and chairs. There are hanging flower pots, and ivy winding along the wood structure. In my mental backyard, there’s a Gazebo, for some reason I’m obsessed with them. My Gazebo stands in a corner of the backyard, thus centering the view into a triangular configuration. It is centerpiece, I think. It boast flower boxes and shade trees near it. It is screened in, with lighting. There is a garden path to it…

::sigh::

That’s as far as I can see right now. Even in the imaginary world, there are decisions to make.


DE_KentuckyGirl July 17, 2019

I'm one who doesnt fuss around much outside. My yard is basic, and kept up but too much work to put more things out that need upkeep when I hate working outdoors!

Shannonly DE_KentuckyGirl ⋅ July 17, 2019

me, too--which is why my mind invents such picturesque things, when in reality it's much simpler!

Deleted user July 17, 2019

I’ve got old graves...

Shannonly Deleted user ⋅ July 17, 2019

There are three graves in my real backyard from 1889. They sit far away on the property line, hidden by a grove of trees. Very common in my area of VA.

Deleted user Shannonly ⋅ July 17, 2019

Oh, wow! And here I thought I’d be the only one with backyard graves. 92 of them if I remember correctly.

GeeJu July 17, 2019

I too like a my backyard to be a haven. I can't wait to turn my new home into just that. I find less is more. I do not like flowers planted nor a garden, it's all a few plants a trees for me.
Speaking of graves my new home side of the house is the end of a cemetery.
It is also on a dead end street because of this and is quiet and a little secluded sort of similar to my old home just in the city.
My friend the realtor said she thinks this suites me just perfect.
I may have to just agree.

Valued Customer July 24, 2019

Serenity, oasis... high flowered shrubbery embracing an old white painted fence weathered by the elements long before the foliage overtook it. Lots of seating, because I love to entertain. Nothing matches, but that just adds to the character. An old, rope carried tire swing from a great grandfather of an oak tree.

Shannonly Valued Customer ⋅ July 25, 2019

I'm there in my mind already...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.