Forever in These Foolish Things

  • July 16, 2019, 9:12 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sometimes the days when I’m confident that I’ve recovered become the scariest. Because those are the days when a sudden and stabbing headache hits and I don’t know why. So of course, the panic sets in and I continually check myself for signs of stroke…I check my eyes and my limbs and even my speech. I feel the same types of pain I was feeling the day I left the hospital - the day the medical staff told me to call 911 if I experience stroke symptoms:
pressure in my head, quickly fleeting headaches that come on so suddenly and subside just as suddenly, neck pain…

I am in a private support group on Facebook. Sometimes it is my saving grace to read and understand the experiences of others who have suffered the same, rare injury. It seems that we are all slightly different, but we have a few things in common: lingering aches, pains, fatigue, and pretty extreme anxiety. Some of these people are a dozen years out from their injury. Or more! Most of them say it gets much, much better but that we are all forever changed.

Now. I have a day to tackle.
Always,
GS


Last updated July 16, 2019


Satine July 16, 2019

Thinking of you - I'm glad you have this outlet, and some mentors who have gotten through it. You are incredibly brave. Big hug. xx

Deleted user July 16, 2019

I am sure it does change you forever, dealing with something so serious. I am glad you have many and varied options for support, and obviously you have many great friends to be there for you as well. 👍🏻

Athena July 16, 2019

I do think that you will forever be worried about this. Even if your next scan shows that the aneurysm is vanished, you will most likely always be concerned about a random shooting pain in your head or neck. That's normal. But you have weathered this with a lot of poise and grace. I suspect you will continue to do so.

Marg July 16, 2019

I think something that traumatic would naturally change a person forever - makes sense.

bobbi01 July 16, 2019

So scary. I'm so glad you have people that have been through similar experiences to talk to. We try out best, but......

plushcreep July 17, 2019

Sounds like it's similar to when you find a bug crawling on you and then keep itching the rest of the day. Too bad there's no way to hit PAUSE on the brain sometimes.

Deleted user July 18, 2019

I am glad you found that group. It’s kind of like here; we reassure each other that we are all going through different but similar life experiences ( I hope that makes sense because I am not expressing it exactly as I mean to :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.