Hell Day... in 2019

  • July 13, 2019, 11:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

After everything on Wednesday....

I got up Thursday morning and got ready for work. I was running behind but decided I had to take the time to go check on the goats before I left. I get in the barn and notice goat 1 is laying on the floor obviously in labor but nothing yet. So I call James and tell him I need him to get up and head up to the barn. Then I go to the center of the barn and goat 2 that I hadn’t locked up yet had already popped out a baby. But she had a leg hanging out of her so I freaked and called James again and was like “I need you to bring a towel and the dawn now.” So he did and I dawned up and went in trying to twist the baby around so it would come out. I tried for about 10 minutes with no luck. So I said we’re going to have to load her up and take her to the vet now.

As we’re trying to figure it out logistically, goat 1 drops a baby. I tell James to make sure she gets the sac off its head and he’s disgusted touching goat goo. He goes and puts a tarp down in my SUV and then he has to carry a 60 lb goat down 2 flights of stairs. As we’re leaving the barn, goat 1 drops baby 2 and I made sure its head was clear and left. James fell on the carport but held on to goat 2. He scraped his knee up pretty badly. I had to get my inhaler out for him because he couldn’t breathe. We got her in the back and I had him climb in and handed him her 1st baby and shut the back and off we went. It was a half hour drive and I called my parents to have them go to my house to check the other goats.

We got there finally and put her in their garage basically and the vet came out and gloved up and had a giant bottle of lube. It took him probably 10 minutes but he finally got the baby out. Of course it was already dead, but I expected that. At least the momma was ok, but jees her shit is wrecked. After he got the baby out, he basically stuck his whole forearm back in there to make sure she didn’t have any other babies. They had to give her a couple of shots for like infection and stuff. We let her chill for a while and then got her and baby loaded back up to go home. Luckily it was only $112.

We got back about the same time as my parents got there. They helped us get everyone settled and came up to see all the babies. They brought us breakfast and they also gave me an envelope of cash because I had been freaking out about not being able to afford a vet bill. After they left we went and got more straw for the barn and goat food. We got the straw in the barn and everyone settled and finally got to grab a shower around 1pm. We laid down for a little bit after and I napped briefly. Around 4 we got up and moving. We went out and ate dinner at a bbq place, then went to Costco and Publix. After we came home and it was probably about 7:30. We went up to the barn to check on everyone and goat 3 had just popped out twins. They were still sopping wet. I ended up waiting in the barn til after 9 to make sure she passed the afterbirth and was only having 2.

Total… Goat 1 had twin girls. Goat 2 had a boy and I didn’t check to see what the stuck one had been. Goat 3 had twin girls. I also had another goat that had twin boys this past Monday, so 4 girls and 3 boys that I need to sell.

Other than that… not much else going on this weekend. James called out sick today so we finally had a day together that wasn’t a clusterfuck like Thursday.


Last updated July 10, 2020


Brodie 💗 July 14, 2019

Wow! Is it typical for them to give birth all on the same day? How overwhelming. It sounds like you’re a pro with all of this! I would love a goat! Maybe someday!

Down the rabbit hole... Brodie 💗 ⋅ July 14, 2019

It is not really typical. They all usually have them over a 2 week to month time frame and this time it was 3 in one day... it was entirely overwhelming but we managed.

❤️vee August 03, 2019

that's a lot of baby goats all at once!! is it common to have so many sets of twins or do you just have some unusually fertile goats?

Down the rabbit hole... ❤️vee ⋅ August 03, 2019

It's pretty common to have multiples. I've just never had them all on the same day like that. Last time around I had 3 sets of triplets in a week.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.