Calendar of events in These titles mean nothing.

  • July 12, 2019, 12:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

  1. Dipping into another weekend. Good. I guess.

  2. Joana’s appointment is Tuesday with an oncologist from Nigeria, an oncology nurse of unspecified origin, a social worker who is supposed to be helpful (as if there’s any other kind?) and a financial person. It’s all in Gundersen in LaCrosse. Jim is going too. The woman calling about the appointment called Joana and me ‘girls’.

  3. Dems met last night but I didn’t go. I’m getting too many calls asking for help with campaigns. I called my old political advisor one day asking her to explain why she still supports Sanders. She said he was cute and curmudgeonly and he didn’t change his mind on anything. I don’t know what I was expecting - what I would have considered a logical answer but that wasn’t quite it.

  4. My writing group met night before last. I’m getting kind of attached to it. I plan a fairly long analysis but not today. I’m wondering about the ethics of writing about one writing group for another. As if ethics exist anymore.

  5. My other group meets the day of Joana’s appointment. I will have to skip it. I know what I want to write - topic is ‘excess’ and I was going to write about books, attaining and lending, gain and loss. I’d picked three books - William Manchester’s Arms of Krupp, Richard Ben Kramer’s What It Takes, and the Donald Hall book of short stories that I mailed to Hawaii and then tried unsuccessfully to get back. I like things in threes and a least the Hall story is interesting.

  6. The county fair is next week and I think Joana has decided not to enter anything into the open class. The last few years I’ve helped her take stuff in and bring it back home afterward. It’s always a relief to skip the fair.

  7. I’ve agreed to have coffee on Friday with a Beto worker. She will be going to the fair to be in the Dem’s booth for the evening. I may cancel that too. I am getting very tired of almost all aspects of politics. I hate myself for that. I believe whoever said, for evil to prevail it is only necessary for good men to do nothing. I believe that. But I’d rather do nothing.

  8. Weather has straightened out a bit. Thank you for all your kind thoughts when I complained to you all. Jim is getting some hay made and while most has been rained on at least some, I assume the quality of some of it is ok. That late planted corn and beans are catching up. The field in front of the house looks good and I really need to take excursions to check other locations.

  9. I bought three books at Pearl Street last weekend. Bios of Warren Beatty, Harry Truman and Mabel Dodge Luhan. Dodge Luhan was somewhat of an heiress who developed the artistic and literary colony in Taos, New Mexico. She reminds me of me and of you, or us here and there. Someone needs to biograph the colony of OD and PB.

  10. Ok, I am up to 10 and 10 is enough. It’s lunch time and I need to make some sloppy joes. Or pisghetti. Or maybe nothing. It’s an odd day. One without borders. Make it a good one for us and the Taos people.

Bye for now.

A muddy pond on rented land.


noko July 12, 2019

I haven't gotten "the girls" reference hurled at me yet but it can't be too far away as I do get more tired every day. I remember you writing about the logistics of getting things to and from the fair and can understand your relief at not having to help with it now.

Just Annie July 12, 2019

I feel demoralized about all things political. I know there's so much more I can be doing, but I'm not sure it will matter. I hope to become re-energized when we have our candidate.

woman in the moon Just Annie ⋅ July 12, 2019

I usually feel better for being active. There are always local people and local candidates that I enjoy getting to know. But it seems like it's a phase thing. A little like you and your graddaughters. You do it and you enjoy it and it's worthwhile and then time goes by and things change. I know you will always be close to the little girls as they become big girls but still there will be changes, needs change, as time goes by.

NorthernSeeker July 12, 2019

Threes are good in art...three similar objects give a triangular composition...kind of circular. There are three points in a five sentence paragraph that can each be developed in a separate paragraph. Do you have a thesis statement about the one writing group?

Your former political advisor should move to Victoria which is full of old curmudgeony men...she could bring Bernie with her. We have an election coming up in October and there has hardly been a thing about it. All the buzz in our last pre-election was about Trudeau legalizing pot. Maybe that is the only thing Canadians really cared about. Our local MP has resigned and I don't know who the new candidate is.

MageB July 12, 2019

Of Course.

ODSago July 12, 2019

I'm with you re: Dems ...maybe because there are too many of then to be excited about any one of them yet. Great to find your entry here. I've been bored but you do not seem bored, I like that. And, I adore the horizontal lines of the photo. So relaxing even to look at it.

Serin July 20, 2019

The length of your presidential campaign process is just horrifying.

woman in the moon Serin ⋅ July 20, 2019

You're right about that. It's been going on for almost 6 months already.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.