The House... in These titles mean nothing.

  • July 11, 2019, 3:19 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s a monster of a house. Built in sections between 1890 and 1930, it’s not in the best of shape. It could use a lot of work. My lottery fantasy is get a contractor who understands me and ask him to do what he thinks I want, and then go to France for a year. I fantasize a Renaissance contractor who could deal with my books too. Maybe I should abandon the house and take the contractor to France.

Before we decided to put the siding on, I asked my son if he intended to stay here - implication after I was dead - and he said he did. So I wrote two big checks and the Amish - Noah and his crew did the rest. It took four or five guys a week. There were rain delays of course.

There is a layer of insulation under the vinyl but we didn’t put in new windows. They say they can do that later and it’s probably best to not spend all your money at one time. There’s been talk of putting in a furnace this year too.

I’m never sure of my relationship with money. It’s fraught. You know.


Last updated July 11, 2019


Florentine July 11, 2019

What a beauty, though! I love old farmhouses and their worn corners and sturdy temperaments.

Beret July 11, 2019

That looks lovely! I think I love your foundation, or the look of it. Is it stone?

woman in the moon Beret ⋅ July 11, 2019

Yes. The original basement is stone too.

Purple Dawn July 11, 2019

It looks great :)

MageB July 11, 2019

That's a flat out charming farmhouse. :)

Marg July 11, 2019

Looks as good as new to me!

Just Annie July 11, 2019

It looks great!

Deleted user July 11, 2019

Wow, they did a great job, it looks amazing!

Ragdolls July 11, 2019

You have a lovely homestead. Such a peaceful looking setting and the trees are gorgeous. What a great place to call home.

NorthernSeeker July 12, 2019

The top photo is absolutely beautiful with the materials on the flatbed and the beautiful home peeking through the foliage...Tara, northeastern style. The house looks bigger to my eyes. Is it just me?

woman in the moon NorthernSeeker ⋅ July 12, 2019

It's a funny house. Big on the outside, filled with tiny rooms on the inside. We took out a lot of walls downstairs. I can sit at my kitchen table in the south end and look out the window in the door on the north end.
There was a woman in OD, an English woman who had an inn in Spain, who wanted to fix up my house. She had no patience for my inactivity. sally brujer isn't her name but it was something a little like it.
When I go back to OD, my note are there but if the person who wrote them isn't active in the current OD, they are unsigned. Sorta old friend Russian roulette.

NorthernSeeker woman in the moon ⋅ July 12, 2019

Oh...you did some remodelling inside too? Nice to be able to sit at a table and look outside. You always know your cardinal directions. I don't care about them. I'm thinking the north side must be the side with the patio/deck on it??

woman in the moon NorthernSeeker ⋅ July 12, 2019

No nothing on the inside. One step at a time. I have no idea what to do inside - that's where the lottery winning comes in and the project manager who reads my mind does stuff when I'm in France.

noko July 12, 2019

You must be so glad to have it done.

Serin July 18, 2019

A furnace could be a nice add, The siding certainly looks nice.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.