Being an adult sucks in Adventures in paradise

  • July 9, 2019, 2:23 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was a fucking mess, mentally, over the weekend. Between the ‘Alien’-like creature protruding from my abdomen, to my wall-paint falling off easier than a Cadbury Flake, I was just throwing myself into my work to try and forget about shit. The online express orders are getting out of control and are only getting worse. Last Sunday I only had one, but this one just gone I had at least 12. And each one takes around 10 minutes, depending. What’s really annoying is customers ordering hot-dog rolls on a weekend afternoon, expecting there to actually be any left ^rolls eyes^. And bakery isn’t my department so I have no idea why the hell they never make sure or order more in. I go to so much effort to make sure the counts and stock levels are accurate in my department so that there aren’t as many out-of-stock issues. But for online orders, I have to grab stuff from every department and others just aren’t as prepared as I am, so I have to wait while other department staff run downstairs to grab stock that isn’t there. Thankfully most customers allow substitutes, so a lot of them got the brioche versions of hotdog rolls last weekend because I just could not be bothered even trying to get normal stock for them.
The good thing about work this week was the amount of seamen (teehee) I saw on the way to work. The USS Ronald Reigan has been docked in my city since Thursday so the city has been over-run with cash-strapped, attractive American sailors. They are here for some training exercise or something, I read. But man, every single one I’ve seen has been attractive. Must be something in the water. Literally.

I went and saw “Spiderman” yesterday to try and tune out for a few hours. I was feeling like shit beforehand. I enjoyed it, and got to see Tom Holland in Spandex and both without pants, and without a shirt (different scenes), so that cheered me up a bit. Zendaya is so pretty too. I kinda hoped they did more in real life than just kiss on screen.

Vish and James came over later in the night, when initially I told them I wasn’t in the mood for company. They calmed me down immensely. I showed Vish my lump and the mark on my bedroom wall. They are convinced they can fix the wall paint for me, as they know a few people who have done good jobs in the past, one even being James’ mother.
As for the lump, they also convinced me to go to the doctor sooner rather than later. I told them I was hoping to kill two birds with one stone, since I had to go back for the second-sample results anyway, but James just cut me off and said, “So go twice!”
So I did.

Today was spent ‘adulting’, reminding me just how old I’m getting. I booked an appointment with the doctor after James and Vish left, and there were heaps of appointments, so that was good. I suppose that’s a benefit of me having weekdays off - business’ are actually open.
My paycheck will be interesting tonight. One one hand we’ve gotten a pay rise as Australia’s minimum wage has increased 3%. On the other hand, penalty rates have been cut. From what I can tell, it looks like my penalty rates won’t go down as the figures seem to match what they’ve always been to what they are going down to now, but it’s a wait and see game.

Anyway, so this morning, I did my second sample and dropped it off to the pathology lab, and went straight to my doctor’s from there. My third visit in 2 months. I assume there will be a fourth when my lab results come back.
I told my doctor I wasn’t there for the results yet, but that I had a lump appear. I showed him and he thinks it is a mild hernia, or could even be a cyst. I guess they were the two options. He did say that he doesn’t think surgery is necessary. So that’s interesting. Without surgery, I can only see it getting worse over time. He asked if it hurt, but I said it doesn’t. Anyway, he reassured me that most people just walk around with them and they aren’t a big deal. I mean, it’s annoying to me cos I can sure as hell feel that it’s there. It’s going to take a while to get used to dealing with it, until it decides to get worse and rear it’s head for me in due time.
He gave me a referral to Q-Scan, and it was just in the city so I walked down there and made an appointment.

So you guys who guessed that I was preggers, may be correct! I am having an ultrasound at 1L45pm tomorrow afternoon. Once again, a benefit of having weekdays off work, I can actually attend! So that’ll be an experience, having my first ultrasound (that I can recall). I will let you guys know if it is a guy or a girl tomorrow! :D

After that, I walked back home and sat down for a while. I needed a break from adulting. Pathology, docs and ultrasound booking was enough for me. But the next thing on the to-do list was take the bit of the wall that came off down to Bunnings (thankfully the new one just down the road!) and get them to colour-match it. I was amazed at the process even though it’s common now. I was in and out with the product in less than 10 minutes. He kept the bit of the wall I brought in though, so that annoyed me a bit cos now I can definitely see it in the mirror behind me all the time. But I have the paint! It cost me $9.
Now all I have to stress about is if Vish/James’ friend can get it to match the rest of the wall! I have already decided to put down my old doona cover over the carpet below as protection because I certainly do not need paint on the carpet. I don’t think that could be as easy to remove.

Phil was finally home today so I told him about the wall and showed him. He said that management even told him that if paint comes off the walls to just get it fixed, so I don’t feel so bad now. I guess it makes sense. Paint shouldn’t be that big of a deal. I just have an issue with painting someone else’s property, ya know? Even if it is to fix it. Damn my fucking morals. Anyway, I felt better having got that off my chest.

Now to get this ultrasound tomorrow done with and hopefully get the results of that, and the sample, on Thursday. I could still be dying for all I know. Nothing like a positive way to end an entry!


Last updated July 09, 2019


Neb July 09, 2019 (edited July 09, 2019)

Edited

I'm in my early 50s and often still think that adulting sucks.

KissOfLife! Neb ⋅ July 09, 2019

Let's be kids again!

Neb KissOfLife! ⋅ July 09, 2019

That's what I'm doing now my kids are all adults & they don't need me to parent them. I'm trawling, playing and being more free!

crunchie July 09, 2019

Looking forward to your gender reveal ;) lol

TL July 09, 2019

You're pregnant with our Gaylord, aren't you?! Gaymen Hallelujah

whowhatwhere July 10, 2019

Adulting sucks to the suckiest power of suck.

My Dad had a hernia for years and years before they would finally do anything about it, and when they did it was a very easy in and out kind of procedure. It did get rather big there at the end.
And on the bright side, at least you live in a county where you aren't going to go bankrupt for seeking medical attention.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.