THE REPAIR MAN COMETH in Postcards 4

  • July 8, 2019, 5:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Three days ago, our internet died. No computer, no cable so no TV…and we are left to our own devices. Very 1950ish here. George still has all his computer games, and I have all my books…plus a library up the street. Quiet. Actually I like it.

FRIDAY: We went shopping Friday night at JCPennys 50% off sale. G’s mom trained her boys that shopping was the cure for all ills. I had fun anyway, but G was good and didn’t buy the blue blazer he wanted.

Dear G ranted a bit when he called our service. He does work from home. He does not have to take me to my Monday neurology appointment at ten. But, he can use that as an excuse to get off work for the day. Has a retirement date. The last of December. My teasing him made him call Social Security to confirm the date.

SATURDAY: Breakfast with Pam. When he left for work, Pam brought me home to see my finished Comic Con costume. She likes it as do I.

SUNDAY: Stayed in bed late with a book. A lite breakfast. We are sticking to G’s Keto diet. Fund a cookbook at Costco that We can both use and is interesting. G installed, with a gigante struggle, a new toilet seat upstairs. The bolts were rusted solid. Dressed up a bit, and went to the Sunday meeting. Celebrating the Women’s Cup Win.

MONDAY: The repair man came and once again we are connected to the world. G and the repair man went down and inspected the installation. It looks as if a new installation was made for a new neighbor using our power booster. They redid everything and we once again are online and have TV again. Saw the neurologist today. Last time. I had a terrific lost word episode while with him, and he told me that I was still within the bounds of normal. He has a cure for my shakey hands.

TUESDAY Haircut.


Deleted user July 09, 2019

It’s kind of scary how dependent we all are on the Internet, computers, and our phones . What would happen if it all went down?

MageB Deleted user ⋅ July 09, 2019

I read a book.

Deleted user MageB ⋅ July 09, 2019

You and I have books but many do not even have a book in their house and the whole library system now depends on computers. :-(

Marg July 09, 2019

I bet that hiatus was quite nice for a while! Good news from your appointment :)

Hillbilly Princess July 10, 2019

🌊🌊🌞🌊🌊

NorthernSeeker July 11, 2019

Thank goodness you have internet again. What is the cure for your shaky hands? I have lost word episodes...personal names are a favourite to go missing.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.