Vacation Lag in Life After 60

  • July 8, 2019, 9:01 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

After a two week hiatus, I am back at it this morning. Well, I am back on the time clock. My biggest mistake? Failure to get up at the same time during my vacation. And this morning I paid for it. While I drug myself out of bed at 6:05 A.M. I am still waiting for my butt to catch up with the rest of me. (Or maybe it’s my brain that is running behind.)
Amazing thing about the body. The body does not require sleep. It’s the mind that must take a break. And the older we get, the less sleep we require. I am at that age where my mind is still arguing with its self over how much sleep we will agree upon. I will let you know later who wins that argument. But for now, let me just say we are hours apart on reaching a consensus.
I need a switch to turn my mind off at night. Even my chemical dependency drug of choice doesn’t work some nights. Maybe Jiminy Cricket is trying to talk to me. Why he can’t do that during the daylight hours is beyond me. Jiminy might protest that I am too busy with other things during the day. Right now I need a caffeine fix. Oh, sweet taste of Dr. Pepper.
As for the vacation lag, I will recover in about 3 days. Just in time for the weekend. And then I will wake up bright and early Saturday morning cursing the sunrise for piercing the darkness. I must go now. The new Chromebooks we ordered have arrived and I must bring them to life. And miles to go, before I sleep!


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.