Tour De Fleece Day one in Tales from the Spinning Siren

  • July 7, 2019, 4:26 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I probably wont share all the photos i take. But it will be fun to collect some of them.

This is the second wool i did today. 4ish oz of merino/ tencel blend. I actually am not happy with it. The spinning is fine. Its great. k weight, will ply nicely to a worsted weight. But im really unhappy with how the purple came out. Its a funky tone. I realized several i dyed have funky purples. Makes me want to redye everything.
alt text

The first wool i did was a pure merino bat, spun light DK weight at best :) Im working on getting it finer and thinner with some of these materials. I need to weigh the bobbins and see how much wool ive spun on day one. Probably 8-10 oz.
alt text

I will probably ply the colordy one tomorrow. The merino needs another bat to spin to ply opposite.

Now im watching TV and eating skittle jelly beans :) Time to weave in some ends on some hats.

Methinks ill need a new book for tour de fleece and or spinning stuff :)


Deleted user July 07, 2019

I do not think the purple is funky . Your wool is beautiful !

ChainedChrysalis Deleted user ⋅ July 07, 2019

Thank you! its just not the violet shade i love to spin with blue green and teal :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.