Friday Night Float! in These Foolish Things

  • July 6, 2019, 9:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Went to Marci’s last night to do our annual Float N’ Gloat (haha - I just made that up!). This is where I go to her house where we sit in her back yard and float her pool and catch up all night long. The “Float N’ Gloat” name was fitting this time because we both had a lot to discuss regarding…ahem…things.

Things such as the dudes who are sexing us up.

The long and the short of it is we both are feeling as if we have a second chance at life (she had a very traumatic divorce from a severe alcoholic and opioid addict after 34 years of marriage) and I am recovering after I nearly stroked myself out at the gym!

So it’s no wonder we both feel as if we are going a little crazy and want to bang pretty much every man we see. Heh.

It was a lovely float evening, though Marce got super drunk (she’d been drinking before I’d gotten there) and in the end started talking smack. The good news is, she was so sloshed I could tell her that we needed to go to bed at the decent hour of around 9:30 or 10:00!

The bad news is, she was too drunk to start her grill to cook the chicken breasts we were supposed to have for dinner - and I don’t know how to work that grill! So we had some chips and hummus and quite a bit of wine and called it a night.

I ended up having about three glasses of bubbly last night and let me tell you - that was a mistake. I’m pretty sure that’s why I experienced pulsatile tinnitus (hearing blood whooshing through my artery) all night long. The REALLY scary thing is that it was on my right side and the dissection in my carotid artery happened on the left side.

Anyway, it’s one of the big indicators of carotid artery dissection and I experienced the pulsatile tinnitus after the dissection but didn’t even realize it. I heard it during my CTA scan and thought that they were pumping music through the machine!! I really thought that it was the beat of the music. Instead, it was the beat of my HEART trying to pump turbulent blood to my brain! Yeah.

ANYWAY, of course I sent Dr. D a text this morning asking him what he thought. I knew he’d ask about my blood pressure, but I was still at Marci’s....recovering.

The tinnitus went away when I got up and out of bed and I’m going to a new doctor on Monday morning first thing (had already scheduled this, thank goodness), so I’m going to pause the freak-out button for now. Unless I hear the whooshing tonight and it keeps me awake again.

So. Yeah. The lesson here is: one glass of wine = good. Two glasses of wine = too much. Three glasses of wine = big mistake.

Last night I also sent a text to a guy I’d been texting last year at around the same time. I know this because I went on a float at Marci’s last year around the same time. It’s a really drawn out thing, but this guy had sent me some nudes (I know, I know…but he doesn’t know that Marci and I drew eyes, ears and a tongue on his dick) and later I found out that he should have NEVER sent those nudes, so I told him to contact me when he was in a place where he COULD send some nudes if I so desired them.

So, he sent a text a few weeks ago telling me that he was in a position to get back in touch with me and we texted for a while, but then I think he got busy (he did, his FB confirms it). He’s actually a fairly famous person who’s traveling a lot to be on news programs and special features. We texted a while and then he said he was on a plane about to take off and yada yada…

Next thing I know, this afternoon he sent me a photo from Ireland where he flew to give a speech tonight and then he was going to spend an extra day just hanging out. Nice.

Anyway. That’s kind of fun and keeps my mind from obsessing on our good doctor.

I also made a date on Hinge with an architect for Wednesday night!

Today I’ve been inside decluttering all day. The reason for that is (a) it’s so freaking HOT outside, (b) the dog is absolutely not moving - to the point I thought she was injured, but I’m pretty sure it’s just because she doesn’t want to move around that much, and (c) this place has needed this for months/years. Tomorrow I have the rest of the hallway, some storage and the bathroom to declutter and I will be living in a beautiful apartment!! I’m super excited about this return to normalcy. It’s like my life has just needed for me to focus!

Oh! I did hear back from Dream Job company! They told me that they have not yet finished looking through all of the candidates’ portfolios and bodies of work, but they’d be back in touch by July 12th to discuss moving forward. If I move forward I will be asked to do a project (I knew it!), which is fine. I like this shit. I can do it and I can rock it!

Ummmm, there’s a lot more, but I’m tired and I can’t think of things and I want to crawl into bed and watch something mindless on Netflix or Hulu, so I think I’m gonna call it a Saturday night!

With love and relaxation,
GS


The Thirsty Oriental July 06, 2019

That sounds like a fun conversation! Too drunk to grill... haha

Glad you didn’t have many ill effects from the wine.

bobbi01 July 06, 2019

Lol at the drawing. Decluttering feels so Good!

Florentine July 07, 2019

My father-in-law was just describing the same thing you felt--the pulsatile tinnitus--because he just had surgery repairing tendons in his knee. They put three screws in his knee cap to reattach the tendons and at night he feels the blood coursing through the area. It sounds very unsettling! I'm glad it subsided for you!

Gangleri July 07, 2019

Good luck with the dream job, yo!

Deleted user July 07, 2019

Remember the wine count :-)

.bob July 08, 2019

so glad the dream job is still in touch!

kansasgirl July 08, 2019

🤞 for dream job to come through!

Ginger Snap kansasgirl ⋅ July 09, 2019

THANK YOU!!! Keeping fingers crossed here too!

kashka July 09, 2019

I love the idea of a float and gloat! Too bad none of my friends have a pool.

plushcreep July 10, 2019

I write about pulsatile tinnitus all the time but don't know anyone who has actually experienced it before. Crazy stuff!

Ginger Snap plushcreep ⋅ July 10, 2019

Really? You do? Well...I've heard it in both ears now, so...now you know someone!

plushcreep Ginger Snap ⋅ July 10, 2019

Fuel Medical focuses on audiology and ear, nose, and throat issues - and tinnitus is a common topic. I'm no doctor, but after writing about this stuff constantly for almost 7 years, I do feel like a bit of an expert! I would recommend white noise therapy or another masking technique, but hopefully this is just a passing phase for you.

Ginger Snap plushcreep ⋅ July 10, 2019

Oh wow. So interesting! I didn't know that you wrote for a medical publication. That's great to know! Thanks for the advice. Right now the tinnitus has gone away, but I never know if and when it will show up again. I understand it's a blood pressure thing, but as someone who knows that I was hearing it because my artery was dissected, it's a VERY scary sound!

plushcreep Ginger Snap ⋅ July 10, 2019

I totally understand - it would freak me out, too! That's the problem with tinnitus: it's impossible to predict the frequency and intensity because it varies so widely from person to person, and there are about a million different possible causes.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.