RAD: The Showoff in These Foolish Things

  • July 5, 2019, 11:14 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

In an effort to keep my options open and stop obsessing about the Doc, I agreed to go on a date with this dude last Saturday.

Name: The Showoff

Introduction Platform: Hinge. This was my second Hinge date. The first one was way back in April while I was injured but before I knew what was happening! Physically and mentally, I felt a lot better for this date.

Age: Don’t remember and don’t really care to go back and look. I think he’s 48 or 49 or 50.

Relationship Status: Divorced 18 months ago. Two kids, both teens. Supposedly an amicable divorce, but sounds like he is somewhat estranged from his daughter.

Job: Pilot trainer (Not sure how much of this I even believe?) - teaches pilots to fly certain aircraft…corporate jets? Somesuch?

Lives: In the ‘burbs

Length of Date: an hour maybe?

We Did: He had told me that he was gonna “think of something really fun for us to do!” I guess his idea of fun is going to a shitty, run down restaurant that was just about to close for renovations. It’s a place known to be loud, messy and with lots of kids. He wanted to have a drink and a snack? Fine. I knew it was going to be an early night. And see, the thing is, he was the one who asked me if I would consider a friends-with-benefits type situation and I was somewhat open to explore that…but then he changed his mind and asked me if I wanted to go on a “proper date”…which…in all honestly, this was NOT.

He Looked: Here’s where it gets really weird. He looked exactly like his photos - but his personality, facial expressions, mannerisms and voice did NOT match any of his photos - nor my expectations! Oh, plus he had a belly. His photos did not show a belly in any way!

I Looked: Cute-ish? Summer sundress and sandals

Convo: He tried to impress me…The Whole. Damn. Time. It was soooooooo icky. Apparently, he comes from pretty extreme wealth and his ex-wife is supposedly some famous-ish surgeon who has an extremely niche practice (this part is true - I googled her), but yeah. I think their kids have affluenza and perhaps he does too? Just. I could tell he was trying and trying. And the more he tried, the further I backed off. By the end, I was almost literally rolling my eyes.

High Point: The salad I had.

Low Point: Everything else. From the moment I walked in and he said hello in a way that didn’t match what his photos portrayed. Weird, huh?

How It Ended: He kept telling me about a dream date he was going to plan if I agreed to go out with him again. I kept thinking about the awesome date he had planned for a first meeting. Then he asked me if he could drive me home. Kept saying how it’s a perfect evening to have the “top down” as if I would be beyond impressed with a convertible? Dude. I have one. I drive with my top down on the daily. Ugh. It was all so gross. He was definitely trying too hard.

Chances Are: Yeah, no.

Date Rating: Fail. Maybe that sounds harsh, but I was 100% not into it. It could be because of Doc D (my emotions are getting the best of me where he is concerned), and that has me a little worried, but what can I do???


Deleted user July 05, 2019

I don’t think you are judging it incorrectly. It sounds like this one would have been classified as a fail if you lived on a desert island!

Deleted user July 05, 2019

If it’s a fail then the chemistry is just not there :-) Life is too short to waste on fails :-) At least you got a decent salad out of it !

Delilah July 05, 2019

I lol'd at the high point. Sounds like a dud. I hope someone better shows up soon!

bobbi01 July 05, 2019

I'm proud of you for trying.

Ginger Snap bobbi01 ⋅ July 05, 2019

Thank you. I have GOT to get a handle on this thing I have with the doc. It's starting to bug me.

Marg July 05, 2019

Just have to fuck the doc's brains out again. Nothing else for it.

Gangleri July 05, 2019

Sounds pretty shitty overall.

Deleted user July 05, 2019

Ick

kashka July 09, 2019

Lol. You know it's bad when a SALAD is the best part of the night.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.