Unsettled and Embarrassed, Happy and Glad in Everyday Ramblings

  • July 4, 2019, 10 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hydrangeas are the symbol that signifies the Fourth of July for me, this odd holiday that is not my favorite. But I can think about honoring the memory of my mother who was born a whopping 105 years ago. I often think of what her life was like growing up in a small town in Kansas.

She was the one that got away but not in any normal straight-line route. The third of four sisters, she was born to a German mother and father that were displaced to Russia and then came to the United States and started farming. Apparently her birth father was not a kind man, a hard man…somewhere between my mother’s birth and just after her younger sister’s he divorced his wife and remarried.

They put the three oldest girls in an orphanage. My mom’s birth mom kept the baby and made a life for herself as a tough hard working single mother in a nearby small town. My mother never saw her again.

The two older girls were fostered out for a time and in the end returned to a life in town with their mother and baby sister.

My mother was adopted by a well-heeled couple in yet another small Kansas town. Soon after her adoption her adopted mother died. Her father was a banker and adored her as well as his oldest biological daughter who had already left home and was trendy and forward and had Flapper tendencies and lived in New York.

These are the stories I have heard. The truth to some of them may be questionable. I know that my mother was stylish, lovely in countenance, ambitious creatively and smart. And she carried a strain of deep melancholy all through her adult life.

And I forgive her, although I don’t think she forgave herself for marrying my father, just as she was coming into her 30’s. He was from Ohio. But she met him in Washington D.C. where my mother went after completing secretarial school. They met during the war.

My oldest sister when she was born had one serious illness after another. It had to have been an extremely difficult time for her, my father away working, my mother with two small children, one of them who ended up with polio on top of everything else.

When my brother and I were old enough for the polio vaccine I swear we must have been first on the list.

My mother, father, and oldest sister are gone now. I learned so much from them all. But my middle sister is still here (as well as my brother) and I am spending the day with her today. All my mother’s sisters are gone too. We found the youngest, my oldest sister found her about 10 years ago. She, amazingly enough, had our mother’s baptismal certificate in her basement. Both my sisters flew to Kansas and rented a car and drove to the small town on the prairie she lived in to meet her.

This is how we know about the genetic disposition to hearing loss. Our amazing Aunt Alice was almost completely deaf living on her own in her later 90’s with help from her church and niece and nephew. I have a single picture of her they took. She wrote me a card after the meeting and I was so touched.

I have been told that other than my coloring, which is a little lighter, that I look, or at least when I was younger, look the most like our mother than anyone else in the family.

Tonight I will be home with the cats with all the windows closed avoiding to the best of my ability the local fireworks and the national one’s co-opted by the grifter con artist that is our President and his odious offspring.

I am embarrassed by him and ashamed and am glad the my mother is not here to experience this challenging time in a country her parents dreamed powerful dreams about coming to and worked hard and sacrificed so much to get to and live freely in.


woman in the moon July 04, 2019

We live in an imperfect world. All ways. Always. I enjoyed the story of your mother and her family. Much struggle, let's hope there was peace too.

Zipster July 04, 2019

I can never imagine a man walking away from his children and yet I know it happens. More difficult that a mother walks away. At least your mom found a father to love her.
I am glad my father and his wife are not here to witness that poor excuse for a human being that occupies the white house. Or his odious offspring. I can barely take it; I know they would be horrified.

Marg July 04, 2019

These were hard times for sure and it must have been so tempting to 'settle' with a man who could provide and care for you. Such a lot of heartbreak in your mother's life though - I'm not surprised that affected her all her days.

Lyn July 04, 2019

An interesting and inspiring family.

noko Lyn ⋅ July 05, 2019

Thanks. Hope you had a fun 4th.

edna million July 10, 2019

What a hard way for your mom to grow up. My mother's father was given up for adoption as an infant, because his mother wasn't able to take care of him - I wish I knew more about that story. They were out in the midwest and very poor. That would affect your whole life. I remember you finding your Aunt Alice - it certainly doesn't seem like ten years ago!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.