Busy, but Have a Moment to Reflect in Pregnancy Journal

  • July 4, 2019, 6:54 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ll probably get hammered for saying this, but it feels like I’m on the Opposite Bus here.
Just about every symptom and sign that everyone says pregnant women suffer from most often are not happening to me. Pretty much the opposite.
No nausea- and no constipation! In fact my digestion seems even more on par, and I’m HUNGRY-!
No bloating, and no severe cramps. Actually I look and feel great. I had very mild period like cramps for a bout a week and a half, but they’re gone now. I Continue to do strength training, in between working 11 and 12 hour days. lol
Fatigue- I have this a little bit. However, when it’s described by other women it seems all pervasive and consuming, whereas for me it just feels like I need a 10 minute nap at around 2pm. If I skip the nap I’m not happy, but it’s not like I don’t have any energy or anything.
Crazy, vivid dreams and less sleep. I’m sleeping like a ROCK, and waking up early and refreshed! I learned that I can’t drink a lot after 6pm even though I’m constantly very thirsty. I’ve had vivid dreams all my life anyways, so I haven’t really noticed anything. And, if anything, I feel like I don’t remember them as well. In fact, I feel like I’m not remembering anything quite as well. I really hope Mom-Brain doesn’t affect me forever.
Tender breasts. Okay yes, I have that. Annoying but, not a biggie.
My only complaint has been incessant nose bleeds. Apparently not very common, but is a symptom of pregnancy. Something about increased blood volume.

It strikes me as quite odd that pregnancy- especially early pregnancy- would basically incapacitate women from the very beginning. That’s not a good survival strategy.
It does seem to me that a lot of complaints these days are not due to normal physiology- they are due to abnormal or dysfunctional physiology. The fact that “no one knows why this happens- total mystery” is pretty chafing as well.

But, I’ve been pioneering the health front for a long time now. Over a decade. Wow. I feel so old saying that.
My first thought is hormones- almost no one has even the slightest clue about hormones anymore. The average American is so screwed up that the testing parameters are set up to only recognize dysfunction. Go functional medicine. Second thought is metabolism- and the 2 are pretty well linked (think PCOS) but it can be deceiving, as a healthy metabolism isn’t always obvious. Lots of skinny fat people out there. A LOT.

As I watch people complain about their nausea and then sit there are eat Saltine crackers, I grimace. Perpetuating their misery, their ill health, and compromising their child’s health, all with the blessing of their knowledgeable OB-GYN. The same OB that had maybe an hour of Nutritional studies in their entire life.
And oh btw, it doesn’t matter what you eat, as long as you eat.
If I ever hear that line of horseshit again I just might throw it at them.

Ta, for now.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.