IMPLOSION! in These Foolish Things

  • June 29, 2019, 2:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m sitting at a coffee shop about a mile from my apartment waiting for the building across the street from my place to implode!

The building’s management has been sending us information over the past week telling us (the tenants) that this was going to happen at 7:30 this morning. My building is located inside the perimeter that is blocked off from all comings and goings for several hours this morning and we were told that we could not enter and exit the building from 6am until 10am. We had to stay in our apartment units and not be on the roof or outside at all.

At first, I was very excited to be able to watch this glorious event (I geek out on stuff like this) from nearly all of my windows as I face the building kind of at an angle. I was going to live stream the event! But then I told Doctor D about it and he highly discouraged me from staying at my place during this time. I mean, you never know what could happen - and he even reminded me of all the issues going on with the first responders during 9/11. And why risk getting even sicker when I can take measures to stay safe and healthy?

Now. I do know that this is not the same…this building topple is very well planned, organized and safety measures are being taken. But. Accidents do happen, right? Doc D even told me that wearing a surgical mask won’t do all that much good in a dusty environment like that. He said that surgical masks without those ventilation thingies only help for about 15 minutes and after that, they are pretty much worthless.

Anyway. I decided to leave the building during this time. BUT! I posted all of the info on my FB and someone private messaged me to tell me that if I have a spare iPhone I could set it up as kind of a security camera and record the whole event! And that’s exactly what I’ve done! So as I sit here at the coffee shop, I can see on my current iPhone that they have put up a tarp on the other side of my building (sucks for anyone who stayed in the building on that side because they are blacked out until they take that tarp down!). I can see the comings and goings of the workers - live! I can even HEAR what’s going on because I have the sound on! This is so cool! It’s like I’m there but I’m not!

OK. I’m going to post this now and come back and tell you what happens afterwards. Yes, there’s still a LOT to discuss with you (including the POOP SCANDAL you all want to read about)!! But right now, I have a building implosion to watch!!

Excitedly yours,
GS


drawnwell June 29, 2019

Cool!

Florentine June 29, 2019

Aw, love that Dr D is making sure you’re playing it safe (and glad you’re heeding the advice). So cool that you can still watch/hear it!

Gangleri June 29, 2019

That’s cool. I’d like to see one in person at some point.

Jafael June 29, 2019

I watched the news video online. Very cool!

Marg June 30, 2019

How exciting!

Deleted user July 01, 2019

Did you remove your dog too ?

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ July 01, 2019

Absolutely!!!!

Deleted user Ginger Snap ⋅ July 02, 2019

Good :-)

bobbi01 July 02, 2019

I love a good implosion!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.