Fiber prep in Tales from the Spinning Siren

  • June 27, 2019, 1:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I suppose the easy thing about stress, is finding some way to take it out on something else.

Thankfully i operate several things with sharp pokeys in them, and for some reason that always helps.

I can cry and load a drum carder! Ive been prepping fiber bats. Tour De Fleece starts so very soon and i have plenty of wool ready to go. But i keep prepping more. If i dont spin it all, ill likely be selling some at the fiber festival at the end of July.
The ladies there were kind enough to allow me to pay for it at the event. Im going to have ot get one business license and fingers crossed.

I havent spun much at all lately. Ive been working on my naughty rabbit beanies and generally not making any progress. Last night i was a wee bit under the influence and was making great progress. Then i realized the hat is WAY to small lol. One shouldent craft while slightly stoned lol.
But at least the stress migraine is gone for now. It did its job. Since it became legal. I tried it out in pill form. It woks for the occasional migraine. Not all of them, but stress related ones, and i actually get some sleep.

Of course now i have to start over.

I have this big pile of wool that ive dyed and spun, Its SO beautiful and i dont WANT to sell it lol. I love it. I love the colors, love how they turned out. But i cant keep them all. I wish i had time to knit something out of each one and sell those. But i dont have the time! I spend too much time on the computer. Im slow and yeah lol.
Oh well. It is what it is.

I did find a home for one of my wooler babies. Im really happy about that. As soon as she has the money we will meet and talk more. 3 to go. Its a start. Because i need rabbit food soon. Everyone is cut down to half rations and more greens lol. Except old man who gets full rations and green. And babies who get all they can eat and greens. Health first on the young and old. The adults adapt really well to a mostly green diet. Its just hard going from pellets to greens and back, come winter there wont be any greens, Just hay.

In any event my wool production isnt down in the least. Possibly be able to sell some loose fiber by the oz. Who knows. In previous years what sold well were the pre dyed skeins of yarn for $12. I think ill up the price to $15 this year. There is so much work to be done for it. Not a lot of time, and not a lot of inclination to get it done lol!
My bad :)


Last updated July 07, 2019


Deleted user June 28, 2019

What is a fair price for a baby angora rabbit ? If I can even find one .

ChainedChrysalis Deleted user ⋅ June 28, 2019

50- 150 is the range you should see.
A pet quality buck would be a good bet. Boys dont get hormonal like girls.

Deleted user ChainedChrysalis ⋅ June 28, 2019

So a boy would be best ? Good to know ! I want one with a sweet temperament . :-)

ChainedChrysalis Deleted user ⋅ June 29, 2019

Yes, girls get hormonal from spring to fall, unless they are inside, then they get hormonal all the time. They want babies. If you dont breed them, you need to get a doe fixed, or shes prone to get cancer. So if you get a doe, you gotta be ready for a hormonal girl who will want babies a few times a year lol.
A buck tends to be sweeter, more cuddly and friendly. my does tend to be more reserved, more held back. Everyone is treated the same way from day one. They are all held, all cuddled. But does end up being less cuddly and bucks are more LOVE ME BEFORE I DIEEEE lol.
Make sure you look for a breeder near you. You want someone who breeds for good temperament.

Deleted user ChainedChrysalis ⋅ June 30, 2019

I am looking around. I think they might be rare around Illinois. There is “ Rabbit Breeders” association. I am going to check into them. :-)

ChainedChrysalis Deleted user ⋅ June 30, 2019

On facebook, Join this group :) We have a breeder directory.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/213633272764427/

Deleted user ChainedChrysalis ⋅ June 30, 2019

Thank- you !!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.