It's getting dark, too dark to see in Normal entries

  • June 25, 2019, 11:20 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s a weird fucking time to be awake; summer of 2019, not whatever glowing hour of late June it is. I’d say I haven’t been writing because what’s the use, those that find our bones won’t catch the nuances of our primitive language. I guess I did just say it, but I’m not owning it. I have no sense of impending dread but my senses may be a bit clogged up for lack of a better concept. I keep meaning to capture some fleeting thought or other and, failing that, convince myself that the thought was likely not worth capturing. I’m not sure cooler heads prevail, but cooler heads are convinced they do. Not that my other aspect is a hothead, but, the other aspect insists I do shit.

These are interesting times, sort of. Social media has brought us the inevitable ‘The end is Nigh’ placards, the ‘single-shooter-my-ass’ conspiracists, The PC fringe, middle, smell-alike, the empowered broke ass supremists, million dollar sympathizers, The I don’t-know-what-the-fucks, all grinding their axe’s in the public square, all vying for their right to the public trough, or, more importantly, telling someone else they’ve been suckling at the teat too long ( Oh? You think that’s a mixed metaphor? Heh. How ya like my grammar? Get your teat outta the public trough!)

Wait, shit. Interesting times. Yeah. So, how exactly does a mob mentality work online? Do folks get jacked up and then attend some kind of live event predisposed to be assholes? Like, going to a Trump rally and a Jerry Springer show breaks out? Oh, that’s probably not a great analogy, how about going to a jerry springer show and an alt-right rally breaks out? Ok, I’ll stop with weak analogies. It’s not like social media hasn’t been used for political ideology for the past two decades, it’s just that the sort of drawing room hissy fits has reached a fever pitch. Oh, yeah, and POTUS didn’t used to participate. And this is all just USA shit. Check the value of the EURO and the Pound Sterling, and that’s with Brexit not really happening yet, or CHF or the Yen. Some of that has nothing to do with our Loco cowboy n’ chief.

And then there is our personal lives, our art and music, our sense of well being or lack thereof with our neighbors, race gender, tradition, community, church, education, land and water, future, he disease with which we face tomorrow, or even raise a dialogue about it without retribution.

Maybe cooler heads don’t prevail, maybe they are just tired, maybe after fighting so long and getting nowhere they’re just … tired.


Athena June 25, 2019

tired. worn out. in need of a dark cave.

haredawg drools Athena ⋅ June 27, 2019

Yes, you're right.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.