Caretaker 4 Redux in General

  • June 24, 2019, 4:40 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I got feedback from my class on Caretaker 4. Some minor critiques on language and awkwardness. Nothing I wasn’t expecting. I pounded that story out in a few hours and only edited it once. What I wasn’t expecting was the emotional response. They actually got it.
In six months I will edit it again and maybe submit it to some magazines. Analogue comes to mind. I honestly don’t care if I ever get published. But I would be pretty happy if I did.

Starting tomorrow I am going to free write a story a day. Then store them away and revisit them next winter and see if anything is worth submitting.

Four weeks into these courses and I am being forced to choose what I am planning as my capstone. It will most likely end up being the Xray Quebec story I wrote over on OD. I don’t know where that story is going, I just have the beginning. Post apocalyptic military fiction. Why not?

Beyond beautiful in Maine now. It reminds me of why I live here. The summer always pays for the misery of winter.


Last updated June 24, 2019


Deleted user June 24, 2019

The “ Caretaker “ story would make a good screenplay I think! I can’t read on OD . For some reason ( like I forgot what email I ever used years ago there ) I can’t log in and whoever will not let me change it :-( . I wish I could read your other story .
You can publish on Amazon you know, right , and even sell it !

Duke Deleted user ⋅ June 25, 2019

I only have X-ray Alpha because I downloaded my OD profile before it crashed. The story is just a shell, mostly an idea. I thought I had fleshed it out more than that.

Deleted user Duke ⋅ June 25, 2019

You should flesh it out !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.