No Love Before Bedtime in Life

  • June 22, 2019, 12:55 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Is what my wife said to me after I kissed my daughter on her head and she looked very confused with me. As that’s normally her bedtime routine. When Mom has her and I give her a peck.

ANYway. I miss my ergonomic keyboard for typing. I got this little compact one to make room for a drawing tablet and this one hurt my wee little wrists.

Alright got the big guns out for this one.

I am the definition of Man-Cold.

I think I’ve finally kicked it (Thank goodness, I do no like being miserable) and I’m thinking that it was an actual summer cold rather than anything else. Or at least that’s what I like to think but at the same time I feel a lot better after pushing myself to eat/make full meals again and all that crap.

I just get real uninspired when it comes to home cooking, being the only cook, you get to that point where you’re just like “Fuck it, jar of pasta sauce and some pasta(duh)” and it’s really a hole(gonna use the right “hole.... y’know what, I’m not even going to finish that thought) that when you start digging, it just gets deeper, darker and all the less inspiring.

If any of you readers are the ‘main cooks’ I will take all your go-to recipies that you like to stick with. So far my routine is:

Pasta
Bangers & Mashed
Fajitas
Salmon & Roasted Potatoes

Then whatever other meat I can buy on sale en-masse. Seriously, never buy meat if it’s not on sale.

But moving beyond the chit-chat and into the meat of the entry, lets talk a little bit about my wife.

She aight.

But as much of a pain as she can be, I need to be real about the impact she has on my life. First off, She’s thick, and she’s beautiful.

But more importantly and probably what drew me to her the most was that she makes me feel human. I think we’ve all been in those relationships where we tell someone a deep insecurity and they look at us like we’re nuts and we’re left there confused like “Oh shit, I guess I gotta keep some of this to myself”

And that was something that I really digested every time a relationship went bad. I largely chalked it up to exposing too much of my inner demons and being like “crap, I gotta be less ‘me’ if I want these relationships to work out. Something I’m sure a lot of us can relate to.

But Pam never made me feel like that. Even when I really unleash my demons and dig deep she works through it all with me and she always has. It’s really quite spectacular what she’s done for my psyche and how I feel when I’m around her. I feel like I’m ‘me’ and I can say that, not only for me, but for my current circle of friends. Granted we have to be cautious of who’s around and what we say (As some are more PC than others) but I feel like I’m myself for the first time in a loooong time.

2 (Ha! You didn’t even think this was a numbered list and then I was like Pow! Gotcha) She bankrolls a lot of our life.

I really live the opposite of what people say about Gender roles. I do all the cleaning, cooking, and babying and my wife is the main earner. Right now, being on Paternity leave, I make 55% of my regular earnings. Which ain’t much. But my wife, makes twice of what I regularly make and when it comes to video games or going out or really mostly anything (Except my drawing tablet, and clothes) she foots the bill without nary a complaint. Although she did tell me that she was going to kill me if I didn’t draw after (impulse) buying that tablet.

C) (at this point it’s nothing but chaos) She works with me on my sex drive.

Being a Demisexual (a person who does not experience sexual attraction unless they form a strong emotional connection with someone), leaning Asexual (the quality or characteristic of having no sexual feelings or desires) can make relationships… difficult to maintain. Matter of fact, if I had to define certain catalyst to relationships bombing it was because I didn’t realize that I was either of those two (Well I realized the Asexuality, just no one believed me so I figured I was wrong) and as such all of my relationships just thought I just wasn’t that into them. And as far as the Demi goes… that really lines up. Because towards the end, I definitely wasn’t that “in” to Rebecca. Which is why I really don’t blame her for the whole house debacle because it was largely on me as well. When I mentioned wanting a house and she said she wasn’t sure that was her dream, I should have kicked her ass to the curb and wished her luck, but comfort is nothing if not addicting.

Regardless!

Pam has worked with me through identifying and adjusting/dealing with those markers. Hence why we’re still together after 3… 4? years. Which is longer than the sex has ever lasted with any past relationship. There’s just something about her that does it for me and being unable to really define it makes me think that it may just be love.

So as much as I bitch and complain about her when I’m sick, there is balance in this relationship and everyone’s support keeps me from loosing my mind so I thank you for that, but I invite you to really think about the one you’re with and why they’re as important as they are, even during those times where you feel like you’re the only one holding it together, we all come out on the other side.


DE_KentuckyGirl June 22, 2019

I think we all bitch about our partners especially in forums such as this because we write it all to process what bothers us to a great extent, but yes...its all a balance!

Like youc I am Demisexual as well. Never really had a label for it until recently, and had friends who genuinely didnt believe me when I said I dont see people in terms of physical attractiveness. I mean of course I see physical attributes of people. But largely, dont feel any sort of attraction towards random people based on it. Never have. I see people as.....well, they are just what they are. They just look the way they do and I have no thoughts on it. I wouldn't go so far as saying I was asexual but my drive is low, always has been. Mixed with the demi, well, it kinda goes together rather nicely I think.

I am the main cooker in our house. Sometimes I like to make more involved meals, and prefer making food from scratch.

Rigatoni and sausage is a good one (Barefoot Contessa recipe). That recipe uses fennel bulbs but honestly, 50% of the time I don't bother chopping a fennel bulb and just use the fennel seeds.

My kids love homemade chicken pot pie. I make mine from scratch, filling and all. But my mom uses canned mixed veggies and rotisserie chicken already cooked which makes it easier.

Tacos are an easy go to. I also make a Mexican tortilla casserole tats really easy, basically a dump casserole, but very tasty. I wanna say it's a Ree Drummond recipe.

Crock pot cooking is a good one. There is one recipe I do that everyone loves and it's so easy. Basically frozen tater tots, chicken breasts, some chicken broth, a bit of milk. 4 hours. Add some cheddar cheese tye last hour. Shred chicken and mix it all up. Yum. I.may be missing a few ingredients so I think it may be Tater Tot casserole if you wanna look up.

Kids are fans of beef stroganoff. Also a crock pot recipe I use. Dump it and forget. Many recipes call for ground beef but I use stew meat, and golden mushroom soup instead of regular cream of mushroom.

Then there is the good old bbq chicken and mashed potatoes with whole green beans cooked stovetop in bacon grease.

White chili, good crock pot go ro and easy dump and forget.

Italian sausage onions, and peppers

DE_Da_Bartender DE_KentuckyGirl ⋅ June 22, 2019

I need more casserole recipes. My mother was the Campbells casserole queen and... they were... rarely good. Bless her heart she tried though! But as I'm now a parent I understand the need for a good stack of casserole recipes lol

DE_KentuckyGirl DE_Da_Bartender ⋅ June 22, 2019 (edited June 22, 2019)

Edited

In general, I avoid the campbells soup recipes. I think the beef stroganoff is the only one I use it in. Every now and then I may had cream of chicken ro thicken up a chicken and dumplings dish, but not usually. But again, I'm usually a "from scratch" person so use flour or cornstarch for my thickening agents.

DE_KentuckyGirl June 22, 2019

Oh and if I am lazy and just wanna quick alfredo; angel hair. Then I cook butter, cream (could use milk), a block of cream cheese, dash of minced garlic from the squeeze bottles, or the garlic powder. Sometimes will add a bit parmesan or mozzarella but generally this meal can be done in 10 minutes. Longer if you cook chicken. Unless you use rottesserie. ;)

DE_Da_Bartender DE_KentuckyGirl ⋅ June 22, 2019

Smart, except lactose and I don't always agree. I'll still probably make this though because I'm the boss of my stomach! (And it just sounds really good!)

DE_KentuckyGirl DE_Da_Bartender ⋅ June 22, 2019

Dont they have pills you can take if you're gonna eat or drink a high lactose item?

Shannonly June 22, 2019

When I fuss about my other half, it gives me a chance to reconcile things in my head, then identify what I did wrong. Somehow it fills in the blanks better and resolution might happen.

DE_Da_Bartender Shannonly ⋅ June 22, 2019

Well said

Mercurial Muse June 22, 2019

We like you buy our meat based on what's on sale. So our staple meals depend on what we buy.

But
1. Salmon with a soy sauce, mustard, honey, and (if we have it) ginger glaze with rice.
2. Wraps - whatever meat and vegetables we have thrown into the wok with whatever spices I feel like and then put into a tortilla
3. Spaghetti - I have been encouraging hubs to eat more veggies so I do half pasta and half grated zucchini
4. Pan cooked sausage with potatoes and roasted veggies
5. Burgers with roasted potatoes

Hubs also likes to buy pre-assembled cordon Bleu or this chicken stuff mushroom thing that I don't actually know the name of but only requires us to throw into a pan to cook. One of the major perks of being in the EU is that these pre-assembled stuff is not often full of an excessive amount of preservatives or salt so I feel okay eating it.

DE_Da_Bartender Mercurial Muse ⋅ June 22, 2019

This basically sounds exactly like my weekly menu although I do Soy Sauce and Maple for my Salmon. I'll have to give yours a shot next time I see some good cuts at the store.

Deleted user June 22, 2019

Some great ideas here for meals ; I do chili, spaghetti , Garlic Bread pizzas, vegetable soup, Hamburgers, potato soup, Italian chicken , roast in the crockpot , BBQ pork chops in the oven , roasted turkey breast . I hate cooking !

DE_Da_Bartender Deleted user ⋅ June 22, 2019

Mmmm Chili, I could always use another Chili recipie, maybe I'll have to sneak over to your journal and see if I can get you to post it up haha. Normally I stick to that as a winter dish though. I don't looove cooking, largely because I did it professionally for little more then a decade but to be the only one to do it is just a burnout waiting to happen.

Deleted user DE_Da_Bartender ⋅ June 23, 2019

I am a spectacularly uninspired cook so I do very simple things . Lately I am trying to get myself to tackle stirfry ; because it sounds simple and I really like it . Lots of times I buy those bags of chopped Asian salad mix and add cold boiled shrimp with some celery . The salad mix comes with slivered almonds , crunchies , and oriental dressing , it’s pretty simple and good :-) Tomorrow I am trying to make Fehttuchini Alfredo . :-) We will see how it goes.
My chili is nothing to write home about ; just fry hamburger and onion , then drain it . Add 2 cans of canned chili ( I use chiliman - Hot ) , one large can of tomato juice , minced garlic , cumin, red pepper, and a tiny bit of sugar , salt and pepper to taste . I simmer it in the crockpot on low for a couple hours before serving .
Have any simple recipes you rely on ? :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.